Favorite Holiday Moments 2012 {Part II}

Advance Merry Christmas! Here is 2nd half of the list of my favorite Christmas moments last year. Here is the part one in case you haven’t read it.

We bought two new books for our Christmas book collection.  If you like Little Mouse, The Red RipeStrawberry and the Big Hungry Bear, you will definitely like the twist in this follow up story.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The other book was one of the best steals that I ever bought from Booksale. For only 120 bucks, I got the anniversary collector’s edition of Polar Express. Not only is it autographed by the author himself, it also comes with an audio book recorded by our favorite actor, Liam Neeson. It became a traditon for us to listen to the CD while browsing thru the pages on the weekends before Christmas

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I finally finally finally got myself a copy of the Martha Stewart’s Holiday bookazine. This is the magazine that I had been looking for. I remember when I first saw a copy in Booksale. It was already in the hands of another customer. I stalked the girl, hoping she won’t buy that magazine but she did. The wait was so worth it! I got so many doable ideas from this magazine

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Speaking of traditions, we added a new one – watching Christmas movies. Franco and I searched high and low to find movies related to the holidays but only got two. Arthur’s Christmas and Home Alone I. I know I should stop being scared of downloading from the net but I just can’t. I also know we’re the baddest of all bad parents for letting Aki watch a violent slapstick movie like Home Alone. I love that movie. Franco feels the same way. And Aki seems to have inherited his parent’s lack of taste in movies.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Meeting Santa in person is also part of the holiday tradition list. As soon as it was our turn to take pictures with Santa, here is way Aki said: Hey Santa, where’s my Beyblade?! hahaha. Santa was lost for words.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Aki’s first school presentation! Yey! But it was another bad parent moment for me! I was worried if people would notice that Aki was wearing a pair of light brown shorts instead of white, which was the instructions in the memo given weeks before. Good news, no one seemed to notice. Bad news: Aki’s class was supposed to wear a green top and Aki was wearing a blue one. Naman! Aki looked so cute though. That performance confirmed that he got his non-talent in dancing from me. Hahaha

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA I

We went to Ayala Triangle to watch the light show and have dinner with my mommy blogger friends, Sha, Maggie and Aimee.  These are the only decent pictures that I have.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Nevertheless, it was a fun evening filled with lights, laughter, failed exchange gifts, cakepops and friendship. Sha, who is talkative online and offline, blogged about it here

29570_4465343883171_711155694_n

Thank you so much to everyone to showered us with love and gifts last holidays. GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Special thanks to Luis, one of my Spanish hires. It was so nice and sweet of you to remember. The note and the disco cross are now in my workstation to remind me that it is nice to be nice.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I will never forget how Aki’s sleepy face lit up when he saw his gifts last Noche Buena. Thank you Santa for his Beyblades! Christmas truly is for children.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The most magical of all to me was the night we decorated our Christmas tree. It was cold and the Christmas music was playing.

Franco and I went to Uniwide Sucat that afternoon.  While it was cleaner and more organized than my favorite branch, the selection was less. We were able to buy some gold ornaments that went well with my paper teal ones.

1page

Around 8PM, after dinner, we turned off the lights so we can better appreciate our white tree. The music was loud but it was so peaceful. I don’t want to ever forget how Franco would bit his lower lip as he tried to hang our ornament and how serious Aki was. It was cold but I felt warm and fuzzy inside. I had been dreaming of that moment. For years, I longed for that day when we would turn on the radio (in this case, 2 speakers and mini mp3 player that we bought specifically so we can play Christmas music) and decorate our tree as a family. The only thing missing was the cup of hot choco.  When we were done, we stepped back and admired our tree while listening to Jingle Bells.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

For the rest of the month, we played Christmas songs every night.  Whenever Little Drummer Boy was playing, Aki would grab a spoon and his toy hammer and pound on the empy tin can of Danish cookies.

Thank you, Alma, for the Christmas carol MP3s!

I still can’t help but smile remembering that night. Of the traditions that we have, I hope this one we get to keep until we are old and gray. I hope when my children are no longer children and have kids of their own, they would drop by to help decorate the tree. Or maybe just hang an ornament or two.

Christmas is the time to feel blessed and loved and that was exactly how the Christmas season of 2012 made me feel.

11 thoughts on “Favorite Holiday Moments 2012 {Part II}

  1. Yay! And you know what? I still owe you the copies of the Christmas movies I promised! Na download ko na dalawa – Santa Claus (Tim Allen) and Polar Express. Pero buti na lang magkikita pa tayo soon. Di ba di ba? Hehe. me onteng pinch sa heart yung photos ng Christmas tree decorating. 🙂

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

