Asadong Pampanga Recipe

Last weekend, I had a lovely time in the kitchen as my mother-in-law taught me how to cook the dishes that Franco grew up eating. Prior to moving in to our own place, we lived in my in-law’s house for 6 months.  During that time, one of the dishes I always looked forward to was Asadong Pampanga. This recipe came from Franco’s dad’s best friend’s wife’s mother.I am documenting this recipe here in my blog as part of my family cookbook project, where I collect our favorite recipes from our favorite people. By documenting the recipes, we will remember the past with fondness and salivating mouths. Plus, our children would be able to enjoy the same dishes that we love.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients

1/2 kilo pork
4 medium ripe tomatoes, diced
juice of 5 calamansi
1 red onion, chopped
1 pack of dried oregano
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons tomato sauce

Place all the ingredients, except for the last one in a small pot. Mix and mash…… using your hands. Yup, cut your nail short and get your hands dirty. According to my mother-in-law, this is the secret to flavorful asado and barbeques. Simmer, covered, until the meat is tender.

I-sangkutsa ang baboy. That’s what my mother-in-law said. I have heard the Filipino word sangkutsa many times but I did not know the meaning.

Drain the yummy sauce and set aside. In a frying pan, heat a tablespoon or two of oil, and fry the meat to release its flavor (sangkutsa). Once the meat is browned, add the sauce. Add tomato sauce for color. Mix and feel free to add salt, pepper and sugar to taste.

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Asadong Pampanga Recipe

  1. Mariel says:

    Hi there! This sounds so delish and yet very easy and quick to make. What would you suggest I use as a pork meat? My husband and kids don’t eat any fat from meat at all. What have you used in the past?

    Thank you in advance for your time!

    -Mariel

    • glad you liked it!
      kami din, very limited menu. we like trying new dishes when we have the time pero only those that are worth the hassle are often cooked.

      try mo rin yun grilled chicken in pineapple marinade

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

