Puke-puke ala Nikkie

I have come to accept that we will probably be forever looking for a perfect nanny and a perfect helper. With Manang now gone, I don’t think we will ever be able to find someone like her. 

For memories’ sake, I have started a new project. From now on, I will ask each helper or yaya (nanny) who will join our family to teach me how to cook their specialty dish. I started this project with Nikkie.

This is Nikkie. She is 18 years old. She graduated salutatorian in her high school batch last summer.  One time, she could not sleep and asked me if I have a dictionary that she can read! Unfortunately, I don’t have one so I just let her one of my finance books.  She came into our lives last Feb 13 and left last March 5. 

 She taught me how to cook puke-puke. Don’t laugh because that really is the name of this Ilocano veggie dish.

Ingridients (or is it ingrEdients? This is one of those words which I will never remember how to correctly spell)

– 3 eggplants

– 2 eggs, beaten

– 2 tomatoes, sliced

– 1 small onion, sliced

Step 1. Grill the eggplants until the skins have darkened. Peel and mash.

Step 2. Saute the onion and tomato slices.

Step 3. Add the mashed eggplants. Mix well.

Step 4. Add the beaten eggs. Mix-y mix until the eggs are cooked.

Step 5. Serve with a smile.

8 thoughts on “Puke-puke ala Nikkie

  1. ingredients. hahah! 😀

    i remember in bambang they also have this eggplant dish.. parang ganyan din pero meron atang coconut milk. they call it “kulao”, “kulako” whatever (can you help me remember? wahahha!).

    PS: di na talaga makacomment pag di wordpress user. 😦 i had to use my twitter account.. huhu..

    • hmmm… bakit kaya? i tried to comment using a dummy email ad, pasok naman.
      gusto mo tanong ko sa friend kong taga-bambang yun pangalan ng dish? Baka mag offer pa yun na ipagluto ka. 😛

      • AC says:

        Ayun. Ibang email na ginamit ko. Kase yung isa nakareg pala sa gravatar, e di nmn ako wordpress user.. Pero dati nagagamit ko yun. Ah basta, sya na yun. Haha

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

