Food · Memoirs of a Mummy · My Party-Folio

DIY Ice Cream Sundae Bar

We had the most fun beating the heat a couple of weekends ago mega thanks to our mini ice cream party. Aki and I left the house early to buy toppings. On our way to the grocery, we stopped by at each of his friends’ house and invited Justin, Gabbie and Vincent for an afternoon of ice cream at our house.  The kids were definitely psyched! I told them to be at our place at 3:30PM. They arrived at 2:30!

The secret to a fun ice cream party are toppings topping toppings! I was planning to make hot chocolate fudge but since the guests came early and were eager to start, I decided to forego the fudge.

The toppings: graham crackers,crushed Hi-ro cookies, white chocolate Knick Knacks (a surprise hit with the kids), Chocnut, chocolate chip cookies and Nips.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Don’t you just love the colors? My Tita Ming got these colorful Ikea bowls, plates, cups and utensils for only 1 pound per pack.

I could have done a much better job at taking pre-party photos but the kids just could not stop eating my toppings.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

For the ice cream, we got 2 flavors – chocolate and cookies & cream.
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Let the party begin!!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Everyone had so much fun loading their cups with ice cream and topping that we forgot all about the ice cream sandwiches that I made that morning.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The kids were already bouncing off the walls of the garden, thanks to the sugar rush,when I remembered the crepes that I prepared. So it was up to Franco and me to finish the crepes which we did devour in just a few minutes. I heated up the crepes, spread strawberry jam on one side and folded the paper thin pancakes in half and topped it with chocolate ice cream. Yum! Too bad, I was not able to take decent photos of the ala mode crepes.
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

So many things that I love about the ice cream bar but on top of my list is the big smile on this boy’s face all throughout the party.
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “DIY Ice Cream Sundae Bar

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?