Paper Fortune Tellers

Aki came home from school last year and begged me to make paper fortune tellers. I WAS THRILLED! I learned how to make them when I was 9 years old. Big big thanks to our trusty ChildCraft encyclopedia set.   I remember how proud I was because it was me who introduced my grade school classmates to this super easy and fun paper craft. How can I not be thrilled, twenty years later, when my own kid, born in the digital era, shows interest in the same old school plaything?

Here is you can win the mother-of-the-school-bus-rider of the year award.

1. First, you will need a square paper. Gather the corners to the middle to create a smaller square.

2. Now, flip and gather the corners again.

1
3. You should have one side with 4 squares and one side with 4 triangles.

4. Fold. I can’t explain how so just copy photo number 4.

2

5. When you are done  with step 4, you should have something that looks like this. Squares on the outer side. Triangle flaps in the inner side.

6. Now, write numbers on the squares.

7. And color the triangles on the other side.

8. Think of fun fortunes and write them down under the flaps.

Tadaaaaa! You are done! You can now go to Baclaran and start a living.

IMG_2373

 

Now, don’t tell me you don’t know how to play this. Were you spending way too much time with your GameBoy or where you looking for the missing heads of your Barbie dolls again? I would love to post Aki’s videos but the files are too big. Basically, you have to ask your “customer” to chose a number. That will be how many times you should open-close the fortune teller. Make them choose a color. Whatever is written under the color is their “fortune”.

Have fun, Manang Bola!

 

 

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

