DIY 2014 Christmas Ornaments

Finally, a artsy-fartsy crafty post! Miss DD, this is for you.

I made a Christmas bucket list. I am proud to say that we were able to do everything on that list except one. The kids in our village don’t go carolling. I tried forming a carolling group but none of Aki’s friends was interested in joining. Double hmmmp! I already had a plan. I will talk to the parents’ of the kids to ask their permission. Franco and I will serve as chaperones and musical coaches. Hay hay. Maybe this year.

 

Here’s my list

Make a snow globe
Wear polkadot shorts for New Years Eve
Have an advent calendar
Wrap gifts creatively
Christmas movie marathon
Write birthday greeting for Baby Jesus
Send Christmas cards via snail mail
Watch Santa’s video message
Listen to Christmas songs
Drink hot choco in our Christmas mugs
visit an orphanage
Carolling around the village
Make holiday ornaments 

The last item on my list was also the last that I was able to cross out. Every year, we have new ornaments. For 2014, I wanted to DIY not one, not 2 but 4! 

Remember the clear plastic balls that I found in Divisoria?

I filled one with strips from our 2008 wedding invitation. Pretty, right?

IMG_5130a

 

I also made a 2014 time capsule ornament. The clear ball was filled with things that will reminded of last year. The ball had Franco’s calling card to remind of us his first year in his new company, Aki’s namecloth to remind us of his first time in the big school, a rosary because we learned how to pray in 2014, loom friendship bracelet from our orphanage visit, an empty ice candy wrapper from Aki’s ice candy store, our card keyholder from our Manila Hotel staycation, my hospital bracelet from my D&C and a small whale origami from his whale and dolphin advocacy.

IMG_51401

 

This is really a photo frame but as soon as I saw it, I knew that it is the perfect ornament to remind us of our little angel in heaven.

IMG_5133

This one was not part of the plan but Aki was very proud of his DIY Pokeballs so might as well keep one.

IMG_5134

 

Lastly, this ornament is not for us. I made it for my good friend and Aki’s godmother, Ameron who got married last December. I filled the clear ball with little momentos from her wedding. I cut up the main entrees section in her menu card, the first reading from her missalette,  their name from her invitation. My favorite are the dried petals from her wedding bouquet. At the end of the party, while she was busy having pictures with her guests, I secretly went to the stage and got the last momento that I need for my V-day gift.

IMG_5135A

 

Aaaaaaand that concludes my Christmas series.

Hello there, February!

6 thoughts on “DIY 2014 Christmas Ornaments

  1. edelweiza says:

    Maquiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii, ang cute naman ng mga yan! Artsy and sentimental. You never fail to amaze me with your creativity. Pag ako nagkaroon ng second chance at motherhood, ikaw ang ipe-peg ko with all your DIY projects, arts and crafts, special occasion traditions, etc.🙂

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

