Our Advent Calendar Christmas Tree

We are celebrating Christmas differently this year.  Less Santa, more Baby Jesus. Less materialism, more meaning. More sharing. More thanksgiving. More reflection.  Last year, I got so caught up with the busy-ness of the holidays — gift shopping, get togethers left and right, traffic etc.  Sure I won several items in the raffles and we got 3 hamons. But the hustle and bustle left me feeling empty and exhausted. This December, I have turned down several  parties especially those that fall on weekends. I want to spend more time and make beautiful memories with the people who matter most. I also decided to tone down on Santa and make sure that we acknowledge the real reason for the season.

Our peg this Christmas is the little drummer boy. I am sure you know the song but have you ever really listened to the lyrics?

Come they told me, pa rum pum pum pum
A new born King to see, pa rum pum pum pum
Our finest gifts we bring, pa rum pum pum pum
To lay before the King, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

So to honour Him, pa rum pum pum pum,
When we come.

Little Baby, pa rum pum pum pum
I am a poor boy too, pa rum pum pum pum
I have no gift to bring, pa rum pum pum pum
That’s fit to give a king, pa rum pum pum
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

Shall I play for you, pa rum pum pum pum,
On my drum?

Mary nodded, pa rum pum pum pum
The ox and lamb kept time, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my drum for Him, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my best for Him, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

Then He smiled at me, pa rum pum pum pum
Me and my drum.

If Jesus wanted a glamorous birthday, he could have chosen to be born in a hotel, right? He was born in a stable and was happy with the poor boy’s simple performance. That to me speaks a lot about how Jesus wants me to celebrate his birthday.

If you also have a Christmas book collection, I highly recommend the Little Drummer Boy book by Ezra Keats.

Our Christmas trees. More on the other 2 trees on my next post.

IMG_3830

Do you also have advent calendars? I added a little twist to make sure Aki remembers that Christmas is not just about the gifts that he will receive. So everyday, starting Nov 25 (traditionally the countdown starts on the first day of December. I did realize that we started early not until the calendar was up), Aki has an “exchange gift” with Baby Jesus.

IMG_4045

Aki gets a little toy. He is into Pokemon lately so the second hand Pokemon figures that I bought online are perfect. In return, Aki does a special good deed which he writes down on the star.

IMG_4046

Can you read Aki’s handwriting? No? Me too! Here are some of the things he did to make Baby Jesus happy

– Help Ate Doring make ice candies
– Make sandwich for village security guards
– Bring a snack for school bus driver
– Donate his old bike at a nearby orphanage.
– Make Christmas cards for his pen pals
– Drop off a toy in the toy donation box in Jollibee
– Fold and sort shirts for the Mangyan kids that we are sponsoring
– My favorite good deed was last last Sunday, during mass, when Aki helped the box ladies, as we call them, carry and pass around the offertory baskets.

Hmm.. What other good deeds can my 5 year old do?

What I also like about this Christmas project is that the little gift bags from Uniwide double as ornaments, no special crafting talents required.

See here for our very first advent calendar.

 

Wishing you all a very merry and meaningful Christmas!

PS. Do you know where can I buy Pokemon cards?

One thought on “Our Advent Calendar Christmas Tree

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

