Books for Less Warehouse Sale Haul

Last week, I took a vacation leave from work so I can go to the Books for Less Warehouse Sale in Pasig. From Shaw Boulevard, I rode a Pasig Palengke jeepney. That was the first time I had ever been to that side of Pasig.  Normally, I want to lie down in the couch the whole day when I am on leave but on this day, I chose to work! All for the love of books! Anyhoo, don’t believe the jeep driver if he tells you that La Consolacion and Immaculate Concepcion are one and the same. Those two schools are at least 15 minutes away from each other. From Immaculate, I got a tryke which brought me to La Consolacion which is right in front o the warehouse.  The sale officially opens at 8AM but I was there by 7AM. At first they asked me to come back. I told the kuya’s that I had no idea on which part of Metro Manila I was and had no where to go.

Fast forward to 11AM, I had 70 plus shortlisted books and extremely dirty hands. I was having the time of my life!  From 70, I chose 43 books to take home. If I weren’t commuting, I would probably had bought more.

Here are my tips so you can make the most out of our excursion to Pasig

1) Go there early. Books are stacked neatly in the morning, making it easier to go thru each pile systematically.

2) Shop with a friend. My very good friend Rachel was there with me. I helped her look for Clifford books for Coco and she helped me spot Bible stories for Aki.

3) Find a newbie book-hunting mommy. Not to brag but Rache and I have been shopping for books even before our boys started eating solids. We have extensive knowledge on highly recommended books and authors  for kids 5 years old and below. Hehe. It was great meeting Kristine, a fellow N@wie. Whenever we saw great books for young toddlers, we passed them to Kristine.

4) Ask for a box. If you find something that you like, just dump them into your box. Once you are done going thru the piles, just got back to your box and sort.

5) Ask for help. I can’t remember her name but one of the ate’s can help. If you are looking for a particular book, just tell her.

6) Wear comfy clothes. Wear shorts and a loose top.  You’d also want to put your hair up so bring a scrunchy or a hair clamp. If you are allergic to dust but want to take the risk, wear a mask. Don’t worry, there is a bathroom with a sink where you can wash up and change before leaving.

7) When it doubt, BUY!! Everything costs only 10 pesos.

8) Bring large eco bags. Or better yet, bring your KJ husband so someone can carry the books for you. There are no cabs in the area so if you are commuting, you really have to carry your mini-library all by your tiresome but highly satisfied self.

 

Without further ado, here is my loot

IMG_1970

 

Aki loves anything related to the Bible, unusual creatures, endangered animals, aliens and witchcraft.

IMG_1984 IMG_1983 6cats

 

And he is very interested in the different kinds of clouds. Unfortunately for him, I could memorize the names of dinosaurs but I always forget the cumulo nimbo whatevers.

4cats

 

The books on the left are sequels of top 100 children’s books and those on the right are part of our favorite book series.

2cats

Not yet his interests but I think he will like these books one day

IMG_1981

 

For our Christmas book collection

8cats

 

These are for Franco. He asked me to look for any martial arts book but I did not find any.

1cats

 

For my journalist-wannabee niece and for the preggers in the office

3page

These are my rewards

5cats

 

Did you also read Jonathan Livingston Seagull in high school?

Raise you hand if you know Captain Planet and Jem

7page

The warehouse sale is only until end of the month. Hurry!!!!

 

9 thoughts on “Books for Less Warehouse Sale Haul

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

