Grilled Chicken with Almost Expired Dry Rub Marinade

One of my greatest joys is seeing my boys wolf down a dish that I just “invented” from scratch. On the opposite end of the pole is Ate Doring whose never ending “Anong ulam natin mamaya?” (What do you want to eat later?) drives me crazy. I have not yet finished my meal and she asks me that stressful question. Gone are the days when I had the patience to plan the menu for the week and our weekly grocery shopping list. I have piles of cookbooks and even a taller pile of cooking magazines but deciding on what to eat next is such a challenging endeavor to me. Three out of five times, I answer her with “Ayoko nang mag-isip, Ate! Surprise mo kami” (I don’t want to think. Surprise us!). And with that, I pass the stress to her. Hehe

Anyhoo, one Saturday afternoon when Ate asked me that question, I just blurted out, “Ibabad mo sa lahat ng malapit nang ma-expire!” (Just marinate it in whatever will be expiring soon). She took out the curry and 5-spice powders. We rubbed them all over the chicken thighs and squeezed several calamansi (Philippine lemon). We gave the thighs 30 minutes to absorb all the flavors. After which, to the stove top grill they went.

IMG_0505

House smelled so yummy! Aki who is a not exactly an adventurous eater, devoured his Indian/Chinese/Filipino chicken 🙂 Who would have thought that my expired powders will save the day? It would had been a perfect meal if Ate didn’t interupt and asked what she needs to prepare for breakfast.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Grilled Chicken with Almost Expired Dry Rub Marinade

  1. edelweiza says:

    Haha ang kulit ng kasambahay mo! Kaka-stress nga naman ang meal planning. Good thing I only get to do it on weekends.🙂

    • True! Stressful ang meal planning! Dream ko magkaroon ng app where I just key in the ingredients in my pantry then siya na bahala mag isip. hahaha

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

