Manila Staycation Part IV: Saturday Morning at Manila Hotel

Ola!

Part I – Planetarium
Part II – Manila Hotel
Part III – Rizal Park

My husband’s idea of a relaxing getaway is lying in a comfortable bed in an airconditioned room watching cable TV the whole day. Are your husbands like this too? Did the love for being stationary also rubbed on you? For our getaways, I made sure we had a lot of time dedicated to being true to our lazy selves.

Because we are early risers, we were able to watch the sunrise from our room. This was sometime between 5 to 5:30AM. Serenely beautiful, right?

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

We were engrossed watching the Graduates when the doorbell rang. Have you seen this movie?

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Snooky Serna, Ronnie Rickets, PJ Abellana, Cesar Montano, Maricel Soriano, Gina Alajar, Gabby Concepcion, Joel Torre and other actors that we still know today, played fresh graduates looking forward to starting their careers. The issues that they had in the movie are as relevant now as they were in the 1980’s.

Manila Hotel surprised us with a cake for Emily. I mentioned to the reservation officer weeks ago that aside from R&R, we’d also be celebrating our daughter’s 1st month in heaven. I just wanted to know where can I get balloons but the lady I spoke with said she will check if she can get a complimentary cake. Thank you, Manila Hotel! And yes, I spent a good part of that morning crying again.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

After the movie, we had our buffet breakfast at Cafe Ilang Ilang.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I particularly love the smoked salmon and the assorted cheese. Sorry no pictures this time. I was too busy savoring each bite. By the way, have you tasted horseradish sauce? I mistook it for cream cheese and spread 2 spoonfuls in a piece of french bread. Oh. My. God!

Next order of the day was swimming!!!

As it was my first time to swim in a hotel, I was amazed that there is a special way for guests going to the pool. I have always wondered why I don’t see anyone dripping wet whenever we are in the lobby.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Family pic by the Manila Bay. That’s Aki’s can-we-stop-this-picture-taking-right-now-so-I-can-swim smile.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Sorry, son. We normally don’t spend on vacations so we had to make sure we have pictures in every corner of the hotel to justify the splurge. Hehe.

One for the photo tradition with the hubby.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I love my swimsuit. I love the rouching which hides my tummy. I love the 60’s vibe of black and white polka dots. I love the neckline. I think it is flaterring. Plus, it is only 500 pesos.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is Aki finally enjoying his swim. I wish we could swim the whole day.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I bought those arm bands from Rustan’s. Intex has 2 sizes. These are for 6 year olds and up but they fit my 4 year old well.

When we got back to our room, it was my time to have a bubble bath while the boys watched Survivor Cagayan marathon. We took our sweet time recharging in bed. We needed that for the fun fun fun afternoon ahead of us.

Before heading there to our next destination, I just had to take pictures again at the lobby

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

This would have been a nice background for a clear crisp portrait but my hand is too shaky and my camera is too low-tech for that. Hehe

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Chandeliers at the Tap Room.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I wonder how they clean the chandeliers at the lobby.
Up next, National Museum.

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Manila Staycation Part IV: Saturday Morning at Manila Hotel

  1. cldyr.livejournal.com says:

    Hi Maqui! You look so refreshed and pretty here! I like that you have lipstick and pearl earings even by the pool side, very chic! Haha! And your swimsuit looks good on you – wouldn’t have thought it was such a steal at P500. I enjoyed reading through your posts. A good breather to my hectic work day.

  2. include my husband din Sha and Maqui! hehehe waaahhh how long have i been stalking you both and we still didnt get to meet!!!🙂

    suuuuper love the swimsuit maqui! pasok na pasok sa iyong kikay plans this year!🙂 been looking for a one-pice 1950s kind of swimsuit for so long…and that for Php500 lang????waaaahh san yan???

    side comment…naiyak ako dun sa cake….😦

    • 🙂
      Kelan na nga ba?! When is your next trip to Manila? Etong asawa ko walang plano sumakay ng eroplano in the next 15 years kaya kailangan ikaw pumunta ditow

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

