Goodbye, Playschool

Last March 19 marked another milestone for our family. It was Aki’s Moving Up Day and last official day in his first school. Goodbye, Playschool! Hello, Big School!

Proud parents with the proud owner of an ice pop

Proud parents with the proud owner of an ice pop

It was a bittersweet day. I was so proud that Aki’s transferring to his dad’s alma mater but so sad that we won’t be seeing his first friends and teachers anymore.

The picture on the left was taken on the day, we went to the school and inquired. Aki was a couple months away from his 2nd birthday.

pages

The picture on the right was taken on his last day. Aki was 4 years old and 5 months.

After I posted this entry, I have been getting a lot of inquiries from mothers who are looking for the best preschool here in Betterliving, Paranaque. I was in that place just 2 years ago. Preschool hunting can be frustrating and challenging. There are a lot of choices and a lot of factors to consider. You have to consider the location, the facilities, the teaching style (Montessori, Traditional, Progressive etc), the tuition fee, the class size, the teachers, the feedback from other people and many more. Lucky for us, we found a school and fell in love with it immediately.

When Aki entered the school, he spoke an alien language. Now, we can’t make him stop talking. He actually got an award for his neverending questions and thirst to find answers. When Aki entered the school, he did not have any friends. Now, he has a lot and even has a crush.  Aki: My crush is Kylie. Me: Why? Aki: Because she has cool shoes but when I looked down, my shoes are much cooler because it has a dinosaur and it can roar.🙂 When Aki entered the school, he was terrible dancer. Now, he is a terrible but adorable dancer brimming with confidence.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Thank you Teachers Joy, Tina, Julie, Aica and Jam. We will never forget your patience and lambing.
Thank you to Aki’s little friends. How we wish we can still see you regularly.
Thank you to my fellow stage parents. I wish we had more opportunities to bond.s

We will miss the small community feel. Never did I feel that there was any competition among the parents and kids except on family day, of course. I love that parents were never encouraged to buy costumes. I love that it is almost automatic to share the food that you brought to other families during sportsfests and  field trips. I love how everybody knows Aki and that I was his mummy. I don’t mind that no one knows my name. Except for one schoolmate who calls me Tita Mummy, I am not Jamie, Maqui or Ms Endaya, I am always referred to as Mummy ni Aki. I don’t mind since I never really remembered the names of my fellow parents. Hihi.

As a parting gift, we gave fortune cookies from Bianca’s Bakeshop. Aki came up with the messages for his teachers. I just added the last line.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Goodbye, Playschool! Thank you for the priceless memories that you gave us. We will always have a smile on our faces when we pass by the street that leads to you.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a comment or send a private message thru the contact page (under the Home category above) if you are looking for a Paranaque based preschool.

 

If you are looking for a Manila-based fortune cookie supplier, you can reach Iya of Bianca’s Bakeshop at 09178870204.

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

