So this is what it is like to be a stay-at-home mom

Officially, my medical leave started last April 14 when I had my dilation and curettage procedure or D&C for short or more widely known locally as raspa. It was not scheduled. I don’t know what was I thinking but I thought it won’t happen until last week. Had I known that the D&C could happen that soon, I would have prepared a transition plan at work. I am thankful for the opportunity to slow down. I am thankful for the 2 month paid leave from work. I am thankful for my understanding and supportive boss, team and colleagues. But still, I can’t help but feel guilty for the work that I had to suddenly had to pass on to them. I just hope the work-at-home tools and accesses that I requested for will be granted soon.

On the first week of my ML, the long leave did not sink in yet. I had the procedure done in Medical City. Franco stayed with me. And then Holy Week. To me, it just felt like a longer than usual long weekend. It was last week when I realized that I am blessed with a lot of time in my hands. In some ways, I am  lucky that we lost our baby in summer. If it happened during the school year, I would be sulking at home with no Aki to keep me entertained. He is just so chatty and energetic that he won’t let me feel depressed nor will let me get some rest. Mega thanks also to Ate Doring. Imagine going through an emotional rollercoaster and still having to clean the dishes.  I am also grateful that even if the sun has never been this powerful, we live in a breezy corner allowing us to get some work done instead of living in the airconditioned cave that is our bedroom.

Here is what I did for the first 3 days of my leave (April 21-23)

Coached/tutored/bribed/threatened Aki to write his name and his A-Z.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I am happy to report that his handwriting has improved  significantly since the start of summer.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Made pandan gulaman ice candy

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Cleaned up the Japanese room/guest room/walk-in closet/storage room. These are what we are selling in our garage sale this May.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
One more cabinet to go and we can already start pricing.

 

Got more hands on in menu planning although I was too lazy to cook.

 

Hosted a late Easter egg hunt for Aki and his village pals.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Used reverse psychology to make Aki eat veggie straws or kangkong stems. The more I said that he is not adventurous enough or he is not fast enough to eat them in X seconds, the more excited he got to accept my challenge.

catsu

Was forced to listen and understand the anatomy and powers of the Kurinte (Kuryente/Electricity) Dragon and of the Snapzord.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Blogged 3X.

Fell in love with Sophia the First and memorized a Hi-5 song. Robot Number 1….

Made a giant bubble solution and failed and succeeded. The first solution turned into a fly catcher but the second one was a major success! Will blog about it soon.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Watched Wreck-it Ralph at least 5 times.

Spent time at the garden. Ate Doring is doing a wonderful job taking care of our tomato, lemongrass, citronella,cilantro, pandan, kinchay, eggplant, ampalaya, chili  and calamansi plants. I am super excited for our tomatoes. We have planted them many times before and many times we failed. We planted seeds of the native kamatis I blogged about here. We have at least 15 tomato seedlings now. I hope at least one of them lives long enough to bear fruits.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Watched two movies on time travel — Time Traveler’s Wife and About Time.

Made orange mango ice candyGEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally finished Power of the Praying Wife. Next book on my list is Power of the Praying Parent. Hope I can attend a PPW prayer meeting soon.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Reopened my barbershop. What do you think?

catsd

Manned the Aki’s Ice Candy Store and saw Aki do his happy dance when he reached his quota. I told him that he sells 10 ice candies that day, we are going to turn on the aircon that night. At 6PM, he only had 5 sales. The grandparents who probably imagined that their unico apo soaked in sweat at night, chipped in and bought 5 more.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

catsa

Held a rainbow in my hand. I will blog about the simple steps on how to make your own rainbow separately. At first, I thought it was so cool to make rainbows in our ceilings and walls but when I caught the rainbow in my hand, I felt warm tears rolling in my cheek. How weird that I can hold a rainbow in my hand but I can’t even touch my own baby.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Wondered what it is like in heaven. How old is Emily in heaven? Will she get older ? I imagine her to be living with my dad and paternal grandparents. Mama, my dad’s mom, who used to put on her make up and curl her hair right after breakfast even if she won’t be going anywhere, probably will teach Emily how to use the Spray-Net  before my darling daughter turns ten. And Papa probably buys her Chips Ahoy before they visit his pigs, one of which is named Emily. And my dad is probably giving her an on the job training on how to be friendly and extremely charming. His bestfriend told me that when my dad was still alive, as soon they reach the welcome arch in Bigaa, a barangay in Cabuyao that is occupied mostly by relatives, he would drop off and visit each and every house. My bestfriend Jojie who died a few months before Franco and I got engaged is her godmother in heaven. I imagine Jojie and Emily having trips to  heaven’s version of the ASAP  studio.  Almost no one in my family can sing so I hope Jojie brings her goddaughter to her church choir practices. Her first song is  not Twinkle Twinkle or ABC. Emily’s first song and she can sing this flawlessly just like Jojie is  Just Get Here. Emily has a lot of friends in heaven. The kids of my friends who also miscarried are her playdate friends.

 

Life has to move on after the miscarriage. Most of the time, I feel like I am back to my old self but there are moments when I can’t stop thinking of the baby I will never get to kiss and cuddle. I just take comfort in knowing that my family here  on Earth and in heaven is happy and loved.

7 thoughts on “So this is what it is like to be a stay-at-home mom

  1. hi maqui! haven’t been here since aki’s ice candy store post…. i dunno why your posts are not showing up in my bloglist…. except the latest…..was going through the posts i missed and just found out….😦 huggggssss!!!! oh i cant imagine but we know things happen for a reason….🙂 and here’s some of the reasons….🙂 you will still meet Emily later….🙂

    and inggit ako with your 2months mommy break! hehe i did not enjoy my maternity leave last year dahil there were a lot of things that they need from me and had asked me several times to be in the office during the break….

  2. Em says:

    *hugs*, Maqui.

    I’m a bit teary eyed after reading this post. Don’t worry, Nanay, my grandma, will feed Emily lots of Lechon and Crispy pata when they see each other. Makes me think tuloy.. What’s it like to be in Heaven kaya, anu?

    Let’s set a playdate soon! At least before your ML ends. Mwah mwah!

    • uy bet ko yan! i have so much time in hands. sabihin mo kay khan, i drop off kayo sa bahay before siya pumasok then balikan na lang kayo

  3. nice post, maqui!:)

    despite the miscarriage, you’re making the most of your maternity leave, spending time with your cutie pie, hyperactive Aki & creating beautiful memories with him. a blessing in disguise…🙂

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

