What’s Cooking? What’s Blanching?

Once I have the time, I will blog about these dishes that I whipped up in my kitchen

Crepe with Cookie Butter filling. I have a good excuse for the green color. I did not want to go out just to get the 2 tablespoons of butter for this recipe. The closest that I had to butter was buttercream frosting from Aki’s dinosaur cake.And that black thing is not bagoong. That is ganache from Franco’s birthday cake last August. Please don’t judge me for making the most out of our leftovers😛
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Chelsea’s Graham Balls.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

My Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Poached Fish. Since we are pretending to watch our weight, I have been trying out new ways to cook.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is something from our pre-diet days — Philly Cheesesteak. We are now fans of caramelized onions.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Speaking of healthy, I would like to share a cooking method that I discovered lately — Blanching. There are so many reasons why you should try blanching. It is fast and easy. It preserves the flavor, texture and nutrients. I learned from a very reliable source, the home TV shopping channel, that when you boil your veggies, the nutrients are transferred to the water. If you want to get all the nutrients, you have to eat the veggie and drink all of the soup. When veggies are overcooked, their nutritional value also diminishes.

I have also had a lot of experience eating overcooked, wilted and oily fried or stir-fried veggies.

Does this look familiar?

Does this look familiar?

Enter Blanching. The method is pretty easy. Boil water in a pot. Once water comes to a rolling boil, add the prepared vegetables. And let cook depending on the prescribed time.  For snow peas, that is 20 seconds. For carrots and beans, that is one minute. Immediately remove the veggies and soak them in a bowl of ice cold water. This stops the cooking process and ensures that your veggies come out crunchy.

Oh did I mention that blanching also makes your veggies more appetizing by enhancing their natural color? If this sales talk is not good enough, I hope these colorful unedited pictures of just blanched snowpeas, carrots and Baguio beans will convince you to give blanching a try.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Just serve your veggies with your favorite salad dressing and you are ready to go🙂

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

