Tomato Sauce from Scratch

Speaking of church, check out my latest finds from the fruit and veggie section of our parish Sunday market:

Malunggat Fruit, Sigarilyas and Olokon

cats1
My favorite find though are these oh so cute native tomatoes. They only cost 40 pesos per kilo. Don’t they look like little pumpkins? They are tastier and juicier than the usual tomato.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Using these babies, I made pasta sauce from scratch

It was so good that I only remembered to take a picture when there were only a few spoonfuls left.

It was so good that I only remembered to take a picture when there were only a few spoonfuls left.

Ingredients

1 kilo of tomatoes, chopped
Dried herbs
Fresh basil leaves, torn
olives, chopped –> optional but highly recommended
One small pack of tomato paste
2/3 cup white wine
1 onion, chopped finely
5 garlic closed, pressed
Olive oil
Sugar
Pepper

Saute the garlic. Once fragrant, add the chopped tomatoes, tomato paste, white wine, garlic and dried herbs. Give it a stir and let simmer covered for at least 30 minutes. Stir every so often. Add sugar and pepper and more herbs if you like. Once you are happy with the texture and consistency, add the torn basil leaves and olives. Let simmer for a minute or 2. Serve with kesong puti cubes.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Tomato Sauce from Scratch

  1. AC says:

    I know that vegetable, that Olokon thing.. I used to eat that in our province (Nueva Ecija) coz my folks are somewhat Ilokano-ish. But I know we call it differently, nakalimutan ko lang.. at ngayon iniisip ko ano tawag. Hay. Hehe. And that malunggay fruit we call it ‘hagod’, my aunt’s background has plenty of malunggay trees planted. Hay. Sarap sa probinsya.๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

