My Favorite Meal of the Week

What is your favorite meal of the week? Ours is definitely our Sunday breakfast in our picnic van. If you have been reading this blog long enough, you know how much I am a sucker for traditions and rituals.This new ritual that started around November last year is definitely something we will keep doing for as long as we can.  After the 6AM mass, we go to the parish multi-purpose hall where entrepreneurs from our area sell clothes (do check out the 20-25 pesos factory overrun underwears) and food. The food options are wonderful. And not to mention very affordable. I blogged about my finds here and here.

Friends, meet our picnic van, Iron Hyde. Don’t look at me. Franco came up with that name. Aki likes it though and thinks our trusty old van is a real Transformer.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

On Sunday mornings, we stick to our favorites which are lugaw with egg for me and Aki.
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
For my husband who is pretending to be on a diet, an order of fried squid, kwekwek, lumpiang gulay, fresh buko juice and most of the time, another order of the deep fried squid.
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

These are the memories that I want to look back at.   I want us to remember when Sundays were simple yet precious. I want Aki to remember how we, as a young family, appreciated the small things like the combination of ice cold buko juice and smoking hot lugaw, being part of a community and simply being together.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

When Franco and I look at our parents’ photo albums, we let out a sigh and an “awww” when we see pictures of our parents as young starting couples. I want to think that these Sunday picnic pictures will elicit the same awww and happy sigh from our children many years from now.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Meal of the Week

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

