Life’s Little Moments

I think Michelle Obama hit home when she said in a Good Housekeeping interview that what makes life great are not the big splashy stuff. It is about the little day-to-day routines and rituals. As a wife and mother, it is my personal mission to make sure that those little moments don’t just pass us by. Being in the moment to me means being aware of the memories that you want to make, keep and celebrate.

Here are my favorite little moments that make our life oh so great

Whenever Aki tells me that kissing and hugging me are his favorites parts of the day

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Hanging out in our doorsteps and enjoying the art of doing nothing

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Watching Aki enjoy being a kid. Last Saturday’s Kodak moment was brought to us by our suking aircon cleaning guy.
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Curling up in bed on weekends and watching our favorite  80’s or 90’s movies. We were in the middle of Back to the Future III when this shot was taken
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Morning walks and tricycle rides with Aki. Our trips are almost always better than our destination. Simply being outside and away from our home makes me see a different side of my son. My most recent walk made me realize how much of a gentleman Aki already is. He kept insisting to walk on the dangerous side because he thinks he is big enough to protect me.
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Being home before 6PM is one of the perks of working on the usual office hours. If you had been working on the night shift for 10 years or is married to someone who used to get home at 4AM and slept for most of the weekend, you’d definitely appreciate the change in lifestyle. Now, thanks to his new job and to Sweet Baby Jesus for listening to our prayers, Franco spends more quality time with us. He reviews Aki’s homework. He spends time teaching Aki important life skills like how to play the hula hoop.

cats1

He can now read to bedtime stories at night.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

We get to pray together as a family before we sleep. Now that Franco gets home early, I have more reason to be at home early too. I don’t want to miss jogging with him around the village before the sun sets, enjoying a nice not-so-quiet dinner together and having the usual how-was-your-day conversations.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Speaking of sharing a meal, the best meal of the week happens at 7AM on Sundays at the parking lot of our parish, right after the 6AM mass. More about our picnic van in one of my future posts.
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I would like to apologize in advance if there aren’t new posts in this blog. I am a little too busy savoring life’s little moments. 🙂

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

