Fun Finds from My Neighbor’s Garage Sale

We are holding a garage sale in the next couple of weeks. We will be looking for new owners for brand new and preloved clothes, toys, parenting and children’s books, Uniwide plates and a lot more. Going through each and every cabinet in the house is therapeutic. I feel so blessed and ashamed at the same time. Blessed because we have more than what we need. And ashamed because accumulating so much unnecessary stuff just isn’t right. I don’t think we will earn a lot from this sale but I am really excited. I look forward to seeing happy buyers who know they got a good deal. I look forward to seeing Aki wholeheartedly sell his beloved toys. This is one way of teaching him how to be entrepreneurial. And of course, I look forward to more storage space and less clutter in the house.

Here are some of the items I scored from a neighbor’s garage sale last October. I was supposed to blog about them last November but because of the Yolanda typhoon, I opted to delay this post.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Jackets for 50 pesos. I got them for Ate Doring’s daughters.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Rich Dad, Poor Dad and How to Kill a Mockingbird. Only 20 pesos per book.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Scandalous shorts that I hardly wear. Hehe. Also 20 pesos per pair.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Pieces of You Album by Jewel. This album has one of my favorite songs ever – You were Meant for Me.  Do you know this song? Anyone who has ever been brokenhearted can relate to this song. I can’t pick my favorite line because I love the whole song. In case you don’t know the lyrics, here it is

I hear the clock, it’s six a.m.
I feel so far from where I’ve been
I got my eggs I got my pancakes too
I got my maple syrup, everything but you.
I break the yolks, make a smiley face
I kinda like it in my brand new place
I wipe the spots off the mirror
Don’t leave the keys in the door
Never put wet towels on the floor anymore’ cause

[Chorus:]
Dreams last so long
even after you’re gone
I know you love me
And soon you will see
You were meant for me
And I was meant for you.

I called my momma, she was out for a walk
Consoled a cup of coffee but it didn’t wanna talk
So I picked up a paper, it was more bad news
More hearts being broken or people being used
Put on my coat in the pouring rain
I saw a movie it just wasn’t the same
‘Cause it was happy or I was sad
It made me miss you oh so bad ’cause

[Chorus]

I go about my business, I’m doing fine
Besides what would I say if I had you on the line
Same old story, not much to say
Hearts are broken, everyday.
I brush my teeth and put the cap back on
I know you hate it when I leave the light on
I pick a book up. Turn the sheets down.
And then I take a deep breath and a good look around
Put on my pjs and hop into bed
I’m half alive but I feel mostly dead
I try and tell myself it’ll be all right
I just shouldn’t think anymore tonight ’cause

[Chorus]

Yeah… You were meant for me and I was meant for you.

Hook movie. Last year, we introduced Aki to the movies Franco and I loved growing up. Might Ducks, Richie Rich, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turles, Baby’s Day Out etc. (Faye and Jana, if you have other 90’s movies, let me know ha)

Both CD’s were only 20 pesos.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Season 5 and Season 6 of FRIENDS. This is Franco’s all time favorite movie show and season 5 is his favorite. For the past two weeks, we have been watching FRIENDS every night. And even though I have seen each episode at least  2x before, I still keep laughing. How I wish there is a spin off  series on the married lives of Chandler and Monica.

It’s already Friday. I love how this week went. Hope you had  a great week too. Happy weekend to y’all!

10 thoughts on “Fun Finds from My Neighbor’s Garage Sale

  1. favorite ko rin ang mga favorites nyo ah! i love Jewel and THAT song, Mighty Ducks, and FRIENDS! Hahaha alam na ang generation. 🙂 Good luck on your garage sale! I hope I can drop by 🙂

  2. I love Friends, too! How much did you get the two full seasons? Hey, there’s a rumor there might be a reunion movie for the 10th anniversary. I think they’re just convincing Jennifer Aniston to do it. 🙂

    • Ay Cris, I heard that too. Their old producer already shot down the rumors. And I quote – “Friends was about that time in your life when your friends are your family and once you have a family, there’s no need anymore.” – Martha Kauffman

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

