The Gift of an Ordinary Weeknight

I’d like to take a couple of minutes to document how special last Tuesday night was. Last Monday, I was feeling low. It was Franco’s first day in his new role. For the first time in so many years, he’s is now working on the same schedule as most people. If you have been on the night shift for almost 10 years, you’d know that this is a big deal. I was feeling low because I had meeting until 9PM. I so wanted to be home early and listen to my hubby’s tales of his first day. Instead, I got home past 10PM and both boys were already snoring. Good thing, my candidate accepted the offer. Hooray! *cartwheels* Hooray! I love being a recruiter! I must have given this candidate a great impression when we met some 2 years ago. When he saw the job ad last October, he called me and told me he’s interested. We were just chatting yesterday and he said I am now the official family recruiter because I am also trying to hire his wife. I told him to tell his brother to prepare his resume. Hehe.

Anyhoo, again I am deviating from the topic.  Last Tuesday was oh so special because our family was oh so ordinary. That morning, Franco and I had a bet. Whoever gets home late will do something for the early comer. I wish I can tell more details here *grinning*. I lost though, unfortunately. Franco was at the village gate at 5:20PM! I got there several minutes later. We had a quick trip to the grocery to buy ingredients for a dessert that I was going to make.

When we got home, Aki wasn’t there yet. When he arrived, he was so surprised to find both his parents at home. I wish I was able to take a video of the surprised expression in his face as he ran to us.  For dinner, Ate prepared grilled tilapia, sauteed snow peas with super tiny shrimps (what is hibe in English?) and tapa. I did not touch the tapa because I vowed to be a pesatarian/pescatarian/pecatarian until the end of the year. My friend, Ate Rache, opened me to the idea of   not eating meat as a form of sacrifice and thanksgiving. Wish me luck! So far, I am okay. I was expecting to feel a drop in my energy levels but so far, I feel great. The only time that was really challenging was when Ate forgot my diet. When I came home late last Monday, I was so hungry. The only food on the table was spaghetti. Imagine how difficult it was to separate the ground meat from the pasta. I had to eat one pasta strand at a time.

After dinner, the boys when up. I stayed in the kitchen and made graham balls. Chelsea, one of my team members, taught me the recipe. I thought it would be easy but after 5 balls, I gave up and delegated the task to Ate Doying.

I brought Ate’s sewing kit in the room. I had to make a Hi-5 costume for Aki for his Christmas presentation. When I first saw the memo, my reaction was, “What da?! As if I have nothing left in my Chrismas to do list, now I have to make a costume? Why is this school giving me an assignment?!” .  Thanks to my crafty sister-in-law for drawing and cutting the hand.  I will post a pic next time.

It was our first family movie weeknight. Normally, we only have movie nights on weekends because Aki needs to sleep early. But since Aki’s school is over, we stayed up late. The movie was Frequency. Have you seen this? If you haven’t, you should! I can’t thank Faye enough for getting me a copy. I have wanted to watch this movie ever since I saw the trailer in highschool (or was it in gradeschool?). I have probably asked for it in MCS for at least a 100 times. The wait was so worth it.  One of the best movies we’ve seen this year. Thank you so much, Faye!

Thank you, Lord, for blessing us with more ordinary days.

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

