It is Starting to Feel Like Christmas!

Speaking of traditions, one of my favorite Christmas traditions is our holiday book collection. Every year, our collection grows and grows. When I was still starting this tradition, I’d buy books so long as they look interesting. Now, I only choose books that are age-appropriate and interest-related. Here are some of my newest finds.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

A Houseful of Christmas. The illustrations look familiar because this book came from the same illustrator who did Click, Clack, Moo. Unlike most Christmas book, Santa does not appear in this book. The story is about how Christmas brings the family together. Very Filipino. It reminds me of my family because in my mom’s house, even if there are only 3 rooms, we always have room for all my aunts, uncles, cousins, nephews and nieces.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The Twelve Days of Christmas. I love the vintage-ness of the hand drawings of this book.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Santa’s Favorite Story

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Santa’s Book of Names. I got this book because the main character, Edward, is also a new reader, like Aki.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Christmas in the Barn. Who does not like Margaret Wise Brown? Well, actually me. Her most famous book, Good Night Moon, bores me to death but the pages have a soothing,gentle magic that only little children can understand.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

And for me, Chicken Soup for the Soul Christmas Treasury. Most Chicken Soup books sell for almost 300 bucks in Booksale. I got this for only 60 pesosesoses.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The Nativity Story. Does anyone know where can I get a copy of the movie? I have been looking for it for almost a year now.

Another holiday tradition that we started is watching Christmas movies. This is the newest addition to our movie collection.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

So far, I already have Arthur’s Christmas, The Polar Express, The Night Before Christmas and Home Alone I. I have been looking for The Elf, Santa Claus I II & III, The Nativity Story Jingle All the Way, Rudolph and The Grinch that Stole Christmas. Do you have other recommendations? Leads on where I can buy the movies will be greatly appreciated. Unfortunately, downloading from the internet scares the hell out of me so getting a copy online is not an option.

Advance Merry Christmas!

5 thoughts on “It is Starting to Feel Like Christmas!

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

