The Joy of Making Carrot Cupcakes

Oh what fun it was!

We made carrot cupcakes to celebrate Aki’s new interest in carrots. When he was younger, he would not touch his food if he saw a speck of any orange or green vegetables. Dear God heard my prayers and transformed my boy into a hearty eater. I really don’t know what happened last month. He suddenly started eating a lot and became open to trying out foods he used to hate.

I thought of making the baking activity more educational by using our weighing scale. Aki weighed the grated carrots first.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Then the sugar..

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I took care of the flour while Ate melted the butter.Ā  The next ingredients were the eggs. Since it was Aki’s first time to crack eggs, I told Ate to assist him while I take pictures. To our surprise, which was very evident in Ate’s reaction, my boy was a pro. Before Ate could get close, he tapped the egg on the edge of the bowl and cracked it open. Good job, bebeboy! And please don’t hate me Ate for posting this picture.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Aki was very much involved in the next steps. So involved that maybe at least halfĀ  a cup of our delicious carrot batter ended up in his stomach. Here, I am already pouring the batter into the muffin pan and he still won’t give up without a fight. He kept grabbing my hand and redirecting the spoon to his mouth.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

After that difficult task, I transferred the pan to the oven. When I came back, this is what I saw

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Happiness is licking batter right out of the mixing bowl.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Unhappiness is finding out that there is no more batter to lick and that you need to take another bath.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Fifteen minutes later, our beautiful cupcakes are baked to perfection.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I was supposed to make cream cheese frosting but decided to use the cheese for another recipe. Why bother making frostings when Aki has already downed three cupcakes in one sitting?

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

While I was taking food shots, Aki kept asking for one more. I told him he can eat another one as soon as I am done taking pictures. He probably misheard me or maybe the temptation was just too much. I did not notice the little sneaky hand that grabbed the cupcake but I noticed the boy who was walking slowly backwards thinking I won’t notice the missing cupcake.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh the memories that we made! We will definitely make veggie/fruit cupcakes more often.

Recipe to follow…

18 thoughts on “The Joy of Making Carrot Cupcakes

  1. candz says:

    Your cupcakes look yummy! šŸ™‚ Baking is also one of those things that I want to be able to do with my son when he’s a bit older. It’s fun noh? Btw Maqui, may I ask what type of oven you use? Gas or electric and what brand? šŸ™‚ TIA!

    • Candz, you really have to try baking! it is fun and you have zero chance of failing if you follow a recipe. we have a black la germania gas oven. sulit na sulit!

    • super!! Leah, i will email you one of these days. i have something for liam. juvvy said dadalawin niyo sila next month. i hope okay lang šŸ™‚

  2. I envy you for your baking skills.

    As of writing, my 16 month son is magana pa, not sure lang pagtumungtong na ng 2 years old. Sana kasing gana din ni aki šŸ™‚

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

