DIY Bird Feeder

This project is a spin-off from our save-the-caterpillars advocacy. Since the birds can’t seem to get enough of our caterpillar pets, I thought of giving the birds something else to eat. This isn’t our first time to make a bird feeder. Earlier this year, we made one for Aki’s class. As usual, I forgot to read the memo so we had to rush the project. We ended up with a Manila-paper covered bird feeder decorated with Aki’s doodles. I forgot about that failed project until I read about a similar project in one of my vintage craft books.

It is pretty simple actually. Cut a hole in an empty tetra pack. Wash and dry.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Once the bird feeder is clean, you can now decorate. We started painting it using a paint brush but Aki was so excited (and kuleeeet) that we ended up finger painting instead.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Originally, I wanted the bird feeder to look like a house but Aki had a better idea. We came up with monsters. Once the paint dried, we hang our scary bird feeder in the gate and waited for the birds to come.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

This is Aki’s best impression of a one-eyed monster. Hihi

page2

We had been waiting for hours and still the birds were ignoring our feeder.I left a trail of bird feed but still no success. Two days passed and the seeds were still untouched.

Thanks to the world wide web, I discovered that birds are attracted to the scent of sunflower oil. So, I got my Human Nature Cleansing Sunflower Oil and sprayed it all over my bird feed. I transferred the feed to the lawn and sprinkled bird feed around the feeder. Before I left for work, I saw birds eating the feeds on the ground. I thought it would be a matter of minutes before they discover the abundant food supply that we have for them. When I came home from work that night, I was dismayed to find out that the seeds inside the bird feeder were still untouched and that there were at least 5 young snails inside. Grrrr!

I transferred the bird feed again. This time, under the gate. I sprinkled the seeds on the garage where I thought the birds could see that there is something inside the feeder. Still, no luck. I was getting desperate. It did not help that Aki kept telling me that our bird feeder is too scary, as if it was my idea to paint monsters.

the bird is inches away but still did not mind my bird feeder

the bird is inches away but still did not mind my bird feeder

I was tempted to slather the feeder with glue and cover it with seeds. If that won’t get the attention of these caterpillar-eating birds, I don’t know what will.

I cut a bigger hole, hoping to give the birds a better view of what is inside the feeder.

The next day….

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The feeder was empty! Hooray! Hooray!

Now I hope the birds will leave our caterpillars alone.

3 thoughts on “DIY Bird Feeder

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

