Easy Korean Beef Stew ala Focolare

I would like to dedicate this blog post to Ninong Eddie Boy who went to heaven last week. He was not just Franco’s baptism godparent. He was also one of the principal sponsors in our wedding.
Tito Eddie Boy, like my Franco’s dad, was an active member of the Focolare community. My mother-in-law got this recipe from one of the Focolare members.
Korean Beef Stew

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
1 1/2 cup water
1 tsp ginger, grated
8 cloves garlic, pressed
1/2 cup tomato sauce
1/2 cup soy sauce, preferrably Kikkoman
4 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp sesame oil
3/4 kilo beef ribs
toasted sesame seeds plus more for garnishing
spring onion, for garnishing

Put all ingredients except sesame seeds and spring onion, in a pot. Let boil. Once boiling, lower the heat, cover the pot and let simmer until the beef is fork tender. I wanted really tender beef (this is one of the dishes I prepared for Father’s day) so I simmered my stew for 3 hours over low fire. According to my kitchen idol, Chef Boy Logro, slow cooking is the key to yummy dishes. I think he is so right.

Sprinkle with sesame seeds and spring onions right before serving. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Easy Korean Beef Stew ala Focolare

  1. Au Reyes-Manalo says:

    nag-double take ako ng tingin when I saw Focolare in you blog title…i thought i opened a difference blogsite, hehe…You know Focolare? are they still active in the community? galing…small world! I know people din from Tagaytay and some other countries… it’s always a welcome feeling everytime I visit them there in Tagaytay.

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

