Korean-style Fried Chicken

When Franco and I were newly married, he often teased me that he was so unlucky to have married someone who does not know how cook. While I knew that he was only kidding, it did hurt. He didn’t want to buy an oven because he thought it would not be a wise investment considering I have never baked anything in my entire life prior to moving to our house. It took a lot of seducing and begging and thank God, I won. haha. Once we have settled in our house, I challenged myself to learn to cook. Franco loves to eat. Since we hardly see and talk to each other on weekdays,  I try to be a good loving wife on weekends by cooking his requests. I would like to think that I have come a long way since the first meal I cooked. My last masterpiece, my version of Bonchon chicken, was a hit not just with Franco but with his family as well.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Ingredients

Chicken. I used wings and skinless thigh fillets. The wings as expected were crispier.
1 1/2 cup cornstarch
1 cup water
Oil for frying

Sweet Soy Garlic Sauce
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup water
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon vinegar

1. Simmer the last 5 ingredients in  small saucepan until syrupy, about 5 minutes. Let cool and set aside
2. Heat the oil over medium high heat. The original recipe calls for using a thermometer to test if the oil has already reached 350 degrees.
3. Put 1/2 cup cornstarch in a shallow dish. Pat the chicken dry and coat them with cornstarch. Shake the chicken to remove excess cornstarch.
4. In a bowl, mix together the remaining cornstarch and water. When the oil is hot, add the chicken  to the cornstarch mixture. Use tongs to remove the chicken from the batter and to allow the excess batter to drip.
5. Grab the biggest pan cover in your kitchen and use it as a shield in case of oil splatter. Carefully drop the chicken to the hot oil. Do not overcrowd the pan. We cooked our chicken in three batches.
6. Fry the chicken until lightly golden brown, about 5 minutes.  Transfer the chicken in a plate lined with paper napkins. Fry the remaining chicken pieces
7. Once all the chicken has been fried, return the first batch to the pan and fry until deep golden brown and the exterior is very crisp.  Repeat with the rest of the chicken.
8. Transfer your twice fried chicken to a bowl and drizzle with the sweet soy garlic  sauce. Gently toss until evenly coated.
9. Serve immediately, with a smile.

* this recipe was adapted from the Korean Fried Chicken Recipe from the America’s Test Kitchen Best Ever Recipes December 2010 Issue.

11 thoughts on “Korean-style Fried Chicken

  1. Sigh! I bet this is better than the McCormick ready to use sauce. I tried it the other Sunday and it was not satisfactory. Kaya lang, di na ako dapit magwings, but because of your post, I want to cook Korean Style Fried Chicken again!

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

