First Day on the Job

I took a leave yesterday because

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

May 27 is Aki’s first day in his first job! Ever! My boy is part of the McDonald’s Kiddie Crew Workshop 2013.

Every summer, several fast food chains in the metro offer workshops for children. I inquired with three. There is Friday’s but there is no branch close to our place. Jollibee was my first choice because the closest branch is just a 10 minute walk from our house. Plus, they have drive-thru. Wouldn’t it be cool to see your kid hand you your order via the drive thru window? Unfortunately, we were not available during the workshop days and they only have one run. I went to the closest branch at least 3 times but they kept telling me they are still waiting for word from their head office if they will run the workshop again. Lucky me, there is McDonalds and they have 8 schedules for the workshop. The fee is very minimal at 550 only. That already includes the shirt, cap, bag, daily snacks and materials.

Aside from the fact that there is no way I am going to miss watching Aki work, I took a leave because I want to personally make sure that Aki is clear on the rules, rules that the facilitator will not tell him.

Rule # 1. No nose-picking! I reiterated this to him several times. Hehe. Side story: we were invited to a kiddie birthday party in Makati Shangrila early this month. It was my first time to attend an event there. Flooch, the same talented guy who made Aki’s first birthday party a success was the host. Every minute he was holding the mic was fun except for one instance. Aki joined one of the games and went to the stage. He was wearing his traffic enforcer costume, which by the way, did not win the best costume award (yes, I am bitter. haha). Suddenly, I wanted to hide under a rock. Standing on the stage, in front of everybody, mostly senior managers and directors from our company, Aki started to pick his nose in what felt like 30 minutes. Probably it was only for 10 seconds but it felt like eternity to me. Oh well, that is rule number 1.

Rule # 2. You can’t suddenly (pretend to) fall asleep. Like what he always does to me, when he does not like what he is being asked to do.

page1

Rule # 3. You can not transform into a dinosaur and roar at the customers.

When we got there, Aki was immediately at home. He was the smallest but he made friends right away. Kuya Iann, the facilitator asked us, stage mommies, daddies and lolas to leave the function area. That did not stop me from peeking. From the glass door, I saw Aki  listening, laughing and participating.

page3

After the 20 minute discussion came the most awaited part of the parents. Kids were assigned to different stations.

Aki’s first task was to place burgers inside a plastic bag. He did it well and he did it with a big smile.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

When it was his turn at the counter, I was the first in line. I ordered for a small McFlurry cup which he made with the help of Ate Hanny.

page4

Then, Franco ordered for large fries.

page5

Then, Ate ordered iced tea. Since the little cashier was so cute, I did not mind even if the cup was only 4/5ths full.

page6

Here is Aki and the gang, learning and trying their hands at sundae and float-making.

page7

After an hour of on-the-job-training, the kids went back to the function hall to eat and practice their song number. Considering they only stayed for 2 hours, those lucky kids did a lot of fun new things on their first day on the job, including making new friends.

page8

Today, my in-laws will be there to watch, take pictures and of course, order from Aki. I wonder how many times will they order.

We will definitely do this again next year!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Want to enroll your kid too? Sorry but you would have to wait for next year. This is the last week that they are holding the workshop. More info here

11 thoughts on “First Day on the Job

  1. Cham says:

    Cute 🙂 Im Cham, also from betterliving. I also enrolled my 5 yr old son,he was Batch 7-May13. 🙂
    Im a fan of your blog, hihi. You’re such an inspiration. 🙂

  2. Em says:

    Is that good for 5 days? 🙂

    Naku, kaya nakatulog ng tuluyan si Akira at Lia’s partey was because nagtutulug-tulugan siya. Hahaha.

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

