Yin Yang Yaya

May I just rant? My current mood does not match the new look of my blog.

Today went really went until a few hours ago when I discovered that we do not have water because Ate Dorina broke the knob of one of the water pipes. Oh shhhhhhh!   I spent the first hours of today playing around the features of the WordPress. Then, off we went to SM to watch Iron Man 3. While waiting for the movie to begin, I scored several brand new top 100 children’s books which I intend to give as birthday gifts. When Aki said he was thirsty, we went to this milk tea stall that we like and to the Zagu stall. The lines for both were long so we just transferred to McDonald’s.  While waiting for our float, I saw their Kiddie Crew Summer Program poster. To my pleasant surprise, they accept 3 year olds. Hooray! Next, all three of us watched Iron Man III. Franco who happens to be Tony Starks’ biggest fan, has been telling me for months that IM 3 should be Aki’s first movie. Now, I am wishing I did not insisted that we celebrate Aki’s Moving Up by watching Croods. It would had been cool if Aki had the bragging rights that his first proper movie was c/0 Marvel. (My first movie was Kabayo Kids. What’s yours?) After the movie,  I had a haircut but a little before that I spotted a buy one take one poster in Marithe Francois Garbau Gaurbo Gerbod GerGer. I am now  a happy owner of 2 more bags. Another yey! Now, I have  a white, a brown and a black. My next mini project is to buy my very first genuine leather bag. Any leads?  For dinner, I made giniling na baboy carinderia-style. I was excitedly reviewing Leah’s post on how she transferred from WordPress blog to a self hosted one. My wish for this blog is to be able to have Nuffnang ads. Just that.

And then, Ate dropped the big bad news that we don’t have water. Hassle!!!!  This was around 8:30PM  so it was impossible to get a plumber. My blood pressure rose and I could not hide how pissed I was. For the first time, I scolded Ate Dorina, for not telling me immediately (she noticed something was wrong for 2 days already) and for breaking another item for the nth time.  After asking our neighbor for water and organizing my thoughts, I told Ate what  we appreciate bought her and what concerns me and what needs to be done moving forward.

If there is anything good that this experience gave me is the world shattering news that water (given that the pipes are A-ok) is available 24×7 in this part of Paranaque. How come no one told me that we don’t need to fill our water tanks anymore??!!

So what do we don’t like about Ate Dorina?

In Laguna, we call people who often breaks things as mabigat ang kamay ( heavy hands, in English). That’s Ate’s biggest opportunity for improvement. She also needs to be more thorough

I used to be a proud owner of this I-mop. This is the only I-something that I own.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

This is how my sofa looks now.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I can’t count anymore how many times that my bag got wet because she did not close Aki’s water botttle or my baunan properly.

One time, Ate ruined my morning when I discovered that she used the brush of my Lock N Lock food container ( they have a special brush for cleaning the groove where the rubber is placed) to clean the electric fan!

The list is long, painful and costly. I posted a partial list here.

Now, what do I like about her

She is a hard-working proactive resourceful employee. Did you see the ribbons and cement that she used to fix the I-mop that she broke?I told her one afternoon that I wish we could change the color and height of the shelves in our kitchen. You know what she did? On the same afternoon while I was resting in the room, she took out the contents of the cabinet, removed the shelf, cut it (I don’t  know how she did it. It looked like the wood was karate chopped because of the many pointed ends), hammered it back based on height I told her earlier, painted the the shelf white and put back the pantry stocks….. without even waiting for the paint to dry! You should have seen our faces.

She is trust worthy. We can leave our wallets in the first floor and sleep well knowing that she won’t even touch it.

And most of all, Aki loves her and she loves Aki too. When she went home last year, we all saw how affected Aki was with the sudden change. He did not want to go to school and was tantrum-y until Ate came back. Last month, she got turtles and shells from Pulilio. Aki was very happy of course..

Speaking of coming back, I also appreciate that Ate always honors her word and is back on the agreed date and time. She also always gets leave conversions every month because she does not go on day offs often.

One more important thing, she is here and she plans to stay. Well that is what she told me last January. I hope the discussion this evening did not change anything. There are a lot of capable and trust worthy helpers out there but as a lot of working moms can attest, finding one who will stay for long on  is like being asked by your toddler to bring home a live T-rex.

I guess I have no choice but to continue to remind Ate to try to be more gentle and accept her shortcomings.

Ta-ta! Still need to look for a plumber.

10 thoughts on “Yin Yang Yaya

  1. now ko lang to nabasa…. hehehe im sooooo nawala sa mundo hahaha… 😀 i can totally relate dahil im having yaya issues since March this year…. since Pao’s first yaya left us (1yr4mos – hinayang tlga ako sa kanya kasi she’s really good and she loves pao tlga…). although partly nareresolve na sya lately…pero gosh masyado akong naging nega sa bahay dahil sa yaya issues din…. hehehe gudlak sa atin!

    • hi belle, meron din kaming refill, kaso itong si ate ko, nilagyan na ng kung ano ano kaya beyond repair and replacement na ang i-mop ko 😦

  2. Awww! Ang sakit nga sa bangs nyan! I can’t give you advice about dealing with yaya, you know naman we never hired any yaya ever since Cyler was born. I do hope nalang that Ate Dorina will be more careful next time. Just keep on reminding her wala namang masama dun. 🙂

  3. Au says:

    lock&lock brush cleaner, really?!? akkk! :-/ for your i-mop, i think at True Value in ATC…they have spare parts replacement for that? since yan din madalas na masira sa i-mops. hehe. goodluck and happy labor day? 🙂

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

