Family Field Trip: Museong Pambata

Hello! Happy mid-week!

Okay, bad mummy confession time! I did not let Aki join the school’s field trip this year. I found the 800 peso per person fee unreasonable. If Franco, Aki and I joined, that would be 2400 bucks. I probably would have considered if they were going to a museum or to a factory. However, since the itinerary involved going to 2 farms and 1 zoo, I thought there is not much new for Aki to learn since we have a vegetable garden and have been to a couple of zoos and farms.

To make up for it, I arrange our very own family field trip to a museum. The most kid-friendly in town is Museong Pambata.

At the entrance, we were greeted by this giant whale. Or is it a butanding?

12page
I loved the tile mural. Does anyone know how to decorate plain white tiles?

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

There are 6 viewing rooms in Museo. We were not able to visit one of them because  it was being rented for a party.

The first room that we went to was all about the Spanish colonization era.

1page

3page

Aki had no idea that he was talking to Andres Bonifacio.

2page
The next room was all about environmental awareness.

4page

When we were there, there was an ongoing free craft activity. I think they regularly hold tissue paper roll craft workshops every Sunday.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

And look, a cute bahay kubo and toy veggies from the Bahat Kubo song.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

It was in this room that Aki’s fascination with shells started.

6page

Aki held on to his white towel for the rest of the day until the next day. No one was allowed to touch his “shell”

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Outside there was a dainty garden which reminded me of my container gardening project last year.

11page

I am still gardening in case you are wondering but most of my plants are planted directly to my plots.

The next room was all about the human body.
Aki is all smiles here but he actually hated that room. Hahaha

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I save you, mummy!

I save you, mummy!

7page

Our favorite part of the museum was the marketplace.

9page

8page

If you are looking for activities for your kids this summer, check this out

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Me thinks Museo makes  a great venue for playdates. Rache, Faye, Erl and other mommy friends, whatchatink?

9 thoughts on “Family Field Trip: Museong Pambata

  1. ferdinand paggao says:

    i agree with you ma’am its the best place in the metro than gigantic malls……..my kids always “kulit’ of visiting MP again and again

  2. Hi Maqui! Thanks so much for writing about Museo Pambata, I posted this on MP’s Facebook page. We’re glad you had a good time and we hope to see you again soon!

    — Jiana, Museo Pambata

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

