The worst gift to give this summer

… is a jacket!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

But when Aki got into his dino obsession, I just had to do this easy project.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
First, using a cardbord pattern, I cut diamonds from my felt cloth stash. I am glad I finally got to use those. I hoarded on felt cloth in 2011 thinking I will never get tired of sewing but I did. My husband will probably nag me for the rest of my life had I pushed thru with buying a sewing machine.

Wait. Where was I?

Oh, for this project, I needed a jacket, diamond felt cut outs and my sewing kit.

I sew, sewed, saw, what is the past tense of sew?? stitched the diamonds on the back of the jacket.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Folded the diamonds and sewed (Thanks, Mr Google!)  them into triangles.

And that’s it! A stegosaurus jacket for my little T-rex.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Unfortunately, just like what happened when Franco and I gave the study chair a makeover, Aki was not pleased. With this scorching heat,  I don’t blame him. It took a lot of bribing, begging and finally pretending to be angry, just to get him to wear the jacket and stay still for my camera.

He was happiest when I let him take of the jacket. Oh well.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Even if my customer was not happy, I am very pleased with my DIY hoodie-saurus. Hopefully, in 9 months, when the cool breeze of December is here, he will appreciate it too.

12 thoughts on “The worst gift to give this summer

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

