Someday by Alison Mcghee

I know I said I will manage my Booksale impulses this year. Promise, I really trying hard. If there is a book in the top 100 children’s list that I really want, it’s Someday by Alison Mcghee. I asked so many BookSale staff  including the ones in their warehouse, to notify me as soon as there is one. No one got back to me.

We were in the SM Bicutan branch a couple of weeks ago. I removed a couple of books from the rack so Aki can easily browse the covers. The next thing I knew, this book fell into my lap. It was meant to be.

If you are a mom, you can definitely relate to this book. If you are a mom with curls and your daughter has straight hair, you have to have this in your family library. If you are not a mom, I hope you remember your mom when you read this book.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

One day I counted your fingers and kissed each one. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
One day the first snowflakes fell, and I held you up and watched them melt on your baby skin.
 GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
One day we crossed the street, and you held my hand tight. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Then, you were my baby, and now you are my child.
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Sometimes, when you sleep, I watch you dream, and I dream too…
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
That someday you will dive into the cool, clear water of a lake. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Someday you will walk into a deep wood. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Someday your eyes will be filled with a joy so deep that they shine. 
 GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
 Someday you will run so fast and so far your heart will feel like fire. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Someday you will swing high – so high, higher than you ever dared to swing.
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Someday you will hear something so sad that you will fold up with sorrow. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Someday you will call a song to the wind, and the wind will carry your song away. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
—> This is the part that made Aki and me cry <—-
Someday I will stand on this porch and watch your arms waving to me until I no longer see you. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Someday you will look at this house and wonder how something that feels so big can look so small. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Someday you will feel a small weight against your strong back. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Someday I will watch you brushing your child’s hair. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Someday, a long time from now, your own hair will glow silver in the sun. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
And when that day comes, love, you will remember me. 
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
I remember when I was about to study in UP Diliman.  I was so excited about living away from home. I wanted to experience how it was to be on my own. After reading this book, I realized that I did not even check how my mom was feeling. When I was excitedly packing my clothes, maybe she was silently weeping. Or maybe when I was having my first meal at the dorm with my new friends, she was having dinner all by herself.  I told myself that I want Aki to experience living in a dorm someday. Now, for selfish reasons, I am having second thoughts.
When Aki and I got to this part, he kept asking, ” Bakit alis siya?”  (Why is she leaving?) I explained to him that when I was still small, I lived in Lola Do’s house. When his dad was still small, Daddy lived in Babita’s house. Now that we have grown up, we have our own house. I told Aki, when he is older he will get his own place too. To this, Aki with teary eyes replied, “But I need you!”  I told Aki that he can stay in our house for as long as he wants. Aki said,” I not leave my mummy.” So we hugged, and kissed and promised each other that we will always be there.
34 thoughts on “Someday by Alison Mcghee

  1. maria eval. remoroza says:

    awwww…i want to have that book sna makakita ako…it made me cried lalo n un conversation nio ni aki. naranasan ko din un mgboard wen i am working n nga lng then unitl i got married. ngaun tuloy namimiss ko lalo ang parents ko prang gusto kong ibalik un dati n hindi n lng ako ngboard nung ngwowork n ako. totoo un cnbi mo n happily packing tau ng things ntin while our parents especially our mom weeping inside. ganda tlga ng book.

  2. And now I shall look for this book. Teary eyed. Agree, selfish, but that’s my fear too – when my kid grows up and he’s not mine anymore. Waaaah!

    • true! i fear for that day too. i hope i’d be able to show my kids how much they are loved so that they will keep on going back even if they dont need me.

  3. This made my tears well up, maqui… 😦 I have already experienced the waving-part-of-goodbye when my eldest went off to live in a dorm to start college. I had a hard time seeing her go. But she has to prepare for her future & learn to be independent. It’s part of growing up. But during those 2 years, so far, medyo nasanay na rin. But there would be days when I would still worry, but prayers for her protection & guidance have pulled me through. And I always keep the communication lines open esp when she needs a shoulder to cry on. Mahirap maging nanay…:(

  4. Maqui, your post just made me cry here in the officen d tuloy ako makakuha ng water because my eyes are all red and puffy.

    Hay!

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. This is a nice read Maqui. Ka-level ng Love You Forever. Sana makahanap din ako nito sa Booksale.

    Mark and I stayed in my parents house for 2 yrs before transferring to our own home. Bago kami lumipat, lagi sinasabi ng mom ko na dun na lang daw kami magstay kasi malungkot daw kapag umalis na ang mga anak 😦

  6. Maya says:

    aww, that made me cry, too… I wanna find that book, too… You have such a sweet boy! We’re very lucky moms to have such wonderful kids… 😀

  7. Awwww! *sob*

    This is the scariest and saddest part of being a mother. I grew up in a broken family and one of my weakness is losing the important people in my life. One of the saddest part of my life is when my parents got separated, me and my siblings had to no choice then, we we’re forced na sumama sa Father namin because that’s what he wants. It was terrible, I can still remember the pain of being away from my family especially to my mom. Even the commercial of J&J bring tears my eyes when I was a kid, then we decided na lumayas sa side ng Father ko at bumalik sa Nanay namin. It was hard, ayan napa-MMK tuloy ako.

    Hay. Napaiyak ako ng bonggang bongga dito, Maquibels.

  8. Thanks for sharing! I have to have this book! I’m curly (although rebonded haha) and my daughter has straight hair LOL Although, I only skimmed through your post. I’m not sure if I’m ready to read and absorb the words baka ngumalngal ako sa iyak (I’m reading this from my office PC).

  9. awwww…. naiyak naman ako sa post mo maqui! hehe 🙂

    i want my boys to experience living in a dorm too! pero the hubby seems to be having a hard time considering that…. sya kasi he never left home, ngayon lang that we’re married na…

    ako sobra kong naapreciate that my mom let me have my college away from home and it really changed me… though years after im back home (my way of paying back to them kasi wala sa amin mgkapatid ang uuwi with them sana hehehe)….

  10. Aww. Tears. It’s like I love you forever. Well what do you know, there’s treasure in SMB. I seldom get lucky finding a top 100 book there.

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

