Question of the Day

Aki: Mummy, I yant the putok balloon song.

Me: Ako ay may lobo… Lumipad sa langit… Di ko na nakita… Pumutok na pala… Sayang ang pera ko… Pambili ng lobo… Sa pagkain sana… Nabusog pa ako…

Aki: Ano yun sayang ang peya ko?

That song is about a child’s regret of buying a balloon which he lost later on instead of using the money in buying food.

Aki has asked me several times what does sayang ang pera ko mean? In English, it means I regret the money I spent.  I tried to explain this to him a couple of times. I told him that food is more important than toys. I told him what sayang means, which I can’t seem to find the English word for. The more I explain, the more confused he gets and the more questions he throws my way. I guess to us adults, a lost balloon is a lost 50 bucks. But to child, the joy of holding a balloon, even for us a few seconds, is much more than the worth of balloon.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Question of the Day

  1. awww…. agree… that joy is worth more than the 50peso and the food…hehehehe im happy to know Aki is in the Little Prince mode…. 🙂 am trying to raise my Pao that way din…although yes, we have to be cost-conscious…pero sayang ang time din na pwedeng magcreate ng happy memories…. 🙂

  2. awww…. agree… that joy is worth more than the 50peso and the food…hehehehe im happy to know Aki is in the Little Prince mode…. 🙂 am trying to raise my Pao that way din…although yes, we have to be cost-conscious…pero sayang ang time din na pwedeng magcreate ng happy memories…. 🙂

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

