My Best Ever Homemade Nuggets

I did it. I did it. I finally did it! I made chicken and pork nuggets that are tender and moist in the inside but really crunchy on the outside. My boys love them. I am so happy! When Aki started liking grocery-bought chicken nuggets, I vowed to myself that I need to learn how to make them at home. And I did! I followed the Cook’s Country recipe to the letter.

Here are the ingredients

1/2 Kilo Chicken and Pork. Because I don’t eat chicken, the pork was cut thinner and longer so I can differentiate

2 Tablespoons Worshorshor Sauce. I will never learn how to spell and pronounce that.

1 Tablespoon and 1 Teaspoon Salt

2 Cups Water

1 Cup Flour

1 Cup Japanese Breadcrumbs, lightly crushed

1 Teaspoon Baking Soda

2 Egg Whites

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

First cut the meat into nugget size pieces.

In a big bowl, mix the water, salt and worshorshor sauce. Marinate the meat for 30 minutes. I explained how brining works here. This extra step really makes meat moist and tender. Drain and pat dry.

In a shallow dish, mix together the  breadcrumbs, flour and baking soda.

Dip each nugget in the egg whites, then coat with the flour mixture. Let rest for 10 minutes. Roll the nuggets again on the flour mixture. Fry to golden brown perfection.

This recipe is more complicated than most nuggets recipes out there but every additional step, is worth it.

I have been feeling lucky these days. Maybe, I should try making gyozas again.

Speaking of luck, I am back to joining contests. Qatar Airways has one. If you love me, just subscribe to their newsletter thru my personal referral link and I might be on my way to London. Here is the link:

Thank you!
8 thoughts on “My Best Ever Homemade Nuggets

  1. Thanks for sharing this, sis.
    I tried it and nagustuhan ng pamilya ko! My eldest daughter who said ayaw na nya ng nuggets said they were delicious.
    Galing! 🙂

  2. Maqui tried this last weekend too! Masarap but I didn’t achieve the same color din. Nasabihan tuloy ako masarap ang kulay brown mommy pero mas gusto ko pa din ang kulay yellow. Kainez tong anak ko mag compliment. hahaha. Thigh fillet din pala ginamit ko. Pwede kayang yun ang reason?

  3. Hi Maqui,

    Winner ang recipe mo ng nuggets! I tried it and it’s good nga but I couldn’t get my nuggets to come out the same color as yours – yung sa yo parang same color ng McDonald’s, nakakagutom talaga 😛

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

