Homemade Volcano Project

There are days when I feel like I am bad at everything I do. There are also days when I feel like I am the man! Last Friday was one of those good days. I had a dinner date with Franco. The food was so-so but the entertainment was great. We discovered this band, Big Bash. They play late 70’s music. Normally, I don’t appreciate music that’s not from my era but band was so good that the crowd was singing with them. The lead singer, Boy, a charming man in his 50’s, went to our table during the break and chatted with us. I requested for a VST song and they played two. Until today, the song Manila, Manila, I keep coming back to Manila.., is still playing in my head. If you want to watch them, they play at Richmonde Hotel every Friday night.

At work, I am finally having some rhythm. I promised myself that on Mondays and Tuesdays, I will play the role of  a good mom and go home early. On Wednesdays and Thursdays, I am a good employee. On these days and only on these days, do I wholeheartedly render overtime. By the way, we still need a lot of Recruitment Assistants, if you know of someone who might  be interested, let me know.

At home, that Friday morning, I was able to finally finish Aki’s concept book. I have been looking for pictures of things that start with X and Z. I found the pictures of a xylophone, a zebra and a zigzag in one of old Smart Parenting magazines. Being a collector of magazines, it pains me to cut a page but I did not have a choice.  I asked Ate to look for pictures of a xylophone and x-ray but what she got me were pictures of a cellphone!  On the bright side, I saw this quick and easy activity on the same magazine. We did this project before I left for work.

The first thing that you need is a curious kid who is into volcanoes.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Because we did this activity many times last Friday and Saturday, I know that this is the best set up. Vinegar on a super small bowl. I used a puto mold. I placed the baking soda on a puto mold too. I elevated it by putting it on a small cup which I placed in a bowl for easier clean up. You can put food coloring on the vinegar but that is optional.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Simply pour the vinegar into the baking soda cup and watch magic/science happen before your very eyes.

1page

That was really fun. I am sure if we did not run out of vinegar, we probably spent last Sunday making volcanoes too.

Happy Monday!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Volcano Project

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

