Books! Books! Books from Booksale!

What you are looking at is a picture of my 2,500 peso loot from Booksale. Oh yes, we spent that much on books in just two days. In my defense, the total bill got that high because hubby bought a couple of special edition Marvel comics.

I bought several books from the top 100 children’s books list for my bookworm. We gave these books on the night of his birthday.

We are loving The Little Mouse, Chicka Chicka, Ping, Three Little Wolves and Make Way for Ducklings.  The same artist who drew We Are Going on a Bear Hunt and Everyday Babies did the illustrations for Three Little Wolves. Also, the same couple behind The Napping House did the Little Mouse book.

I thought Is Your Mama a Llama is part of the top 100 list. I was wrong.  It is a nice book but I would not buy it if I knew.

Moving on. We also started our Christmas gift shopping. When I saw these hard-to-find books, I just could not leave without them. All of them are also part of the top 100 list. I plan to give out these books to children of my friends.

Christmas story books are now all over Booksale stores. We already have A Night Before Christmas Book but the illustrations in this one was so dreamy. It did not hurt that it was only 35 bucks.

In the Booksale branch in Makati Cinema Square, there are two rows filled with Christmas craft books. Franky baby gave me the evil eye when he saw me walking towards the cashier with these lovely books. He thinks it is impractical to buy craft books since ideas abound online.  Good point but I don’t care. Haha.

There is something about vintage craft books that make me addicted to them. Maybe it is the smell? The colors? Maybe it is the 35 peso tag price. These books are from the 60’s and 70’s,

Bullying is a hot topic nowadays. Franco told me about the bullying that happens in school buses.  Haay, I am scared for my boy. I am also scared that he might become a bully. It was Franco who found this book. At 120 bucks, it is relatively expensive but the lesson on bullying is priceless so we decided to buy the book.

And lastly, this is my favorite find.

How to Talk so Kids Will Listen & Listen so Kids Will Talk.  The techniques are very similar to Dr Harvey Karp’s Happiest Toddler in the Block. Both books tell parents to acknowledge their kids’ feelings.  It is been a while since I last re-read the Happiest book. Admittedly, I forgot some of the tricks in the book.  Thanks to my new book, I feel empowered again. That first time I tried the acknowledging skill was when Aki was insisting that he plays with his broken umbrella. Normally, I would tell him that he can’t because the pointed ends might hurt him. Instead  of giving him a lecture on safety, I acknowledged his feelings, telling him that I know how much he loves that umbrella and that he surely misses it. It worked!  I soooooo highly recommend this book. It is like the Happiest Toddler book but designed for parents of kids from 2 to 19 yo. I also like that there are “assignments” and that you can really tell that the authors are parents themselves.

How about you? What are your latest Booksale finds?

17 thoughts on “Books! Books! Books from Booksale!

  1. waaaahh! Ang mura nung “How to Talk so Kids Will Listen..” Book. pfft. I bought a copy in Fully Booked last year ata, can’t recall kung nasa Php300 o Php500-600 ang range. Ang galing nga niyan, it helped me become more patient with Ryken. 🙂

  2. One of our favorites in Booksale is Berenstain Bears story books 🙂 Madami kasing minana si Kelsea from my cousins and she liked them. Try mo to buy one. All about family 🙂

    Ang tiyaga mo pala hanapin yung mga books na kasama sa top 100. Lam mo ba dream ko sa house namin merong mini library 🙂

    I also love the Happiest Toddler in the Block! But like you need ng refresher ulit hehe.

  3. Hi Maqui!

    May I ask what Book Sale branch you frequent? I envy your book stash! My husband and I love reading books and it’s one of those things that I want to pass on to my son. So even this early I’m already trying to hoard as much books as I can, the tough part is how expensive children’s books have become. Makes me cry when I think of my own books when I was a kid – sana pala I managed to save them! 🙂

    Thanks in advance!

    • Hi Candz!
      Madami! I go to the SM Bicutan, Alphaland, Cash and Carry, Edsa Central, and Makati Cinema Square. My fave branch is the one in MCS. 🙂
      Happy book hunting!
      Brand new books are really expensive. The only books that I buy from the more known bookstores are the local ones.

  4. I purchased three christmas book, two Dr. seuss book for Cyler, one pasta cook book and yummy magazinr for me! He liked the christmas book, he surely did because he used to listen attentively every time I read it to him. I’ve been collecting books from top 100 children book list, in fairness nakaka adik mag hanap and mas type ko din talaga ang mga vintage children books. 🙂

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

