Ate Dorina’s Eggplant Burger Patties

For the 4th time this year, we are maid-less once again. Ate Dorina is on emergency leave because her 3rd child is in the hospital. When I learned that her child is sick last Tuesday, we agreed that she will go home today, Thursday. However, when I got home, I could see how worried she was. I remembered how stressed I was when Aki got sick last August. All I wanted to do was to look after my sick son. What really helped me during that difficult time was having a supportive and understanding boss who told me that my child is more important than everything else. So, I told Ate Dorina that if she wants to go home the next morning, she may do so. She left yesterday at 2:45AM.  I am happy to report that Baling, her daughter, is now getting better.

Ate promised that she will be back as soon as Baling is okay. I am crossing my fingers and toes that she will keep her word though deep inside, I am worried. From experience, I learned that leaving clothes behind, a great employee-employer relationship, a salary advance, a work-issued phone, character references that we know personally, genuine love and care for Aki and a hundred promises are not guarantees that a helper will come back. Oh, and tomorrow is Aki’s school party. Then, Saturday, we will have a simple lunch celebration at home. Good luck to me!

Anyhoo, I would like to share this recipe that Ate Dorina taught me. Our picky eater loved this dish so much that he asked for a second serving. Even Franco, who is not the biggest fan of eggplants, enjoyed this dish.

First, grill 3 eggplants until the skins are black. Peel the eggplants. Mash them with a fork.

Mix the mashed eggplants with 1/4 kilo ground pork and one egg. Season with salt and pepper.

You are ready to fry. Just drop about 1/4 cup-fuls of the mixture in a hot pan.  Once nicely browned, remove the patties and drain on paper towels.

Serve with a smile!

5 thoughts on “Ate Dorina’s Eggplant Burger Patties

  1. I know what you mean about not having guarantees that the helpers will come back. This is why we allow our helper to go home every month so she can check on her kids.

    Tomorrow din pala is Aki’s school party! Same as Tala! Happy birthday Aki! Hope you have an awesome school party! 🙂

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

