How do you teach a toddler to pray?

Spirituality is one of my weak points.Last night was another reminder when I realized I can’t remember when was the last time I prayed with Aki.

From my first communion seminars, I was taught that a prayer should have four parts – adoration, asking for forgiveness, thanks giving,Β  and wishes. I felt the first two were two heavy for a two year old so I just concentrated on teaching Aki to give thanks and ask for a couple of wishes from Jesus.

Mummy and Aki: In the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for…

Aki: my pilloh! (my pillow)

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for…

Aki: jajjing pants (jogging pants but he was actually wearing jammies)

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for…

Aki: sando

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for…

Aki: “die”-poh (diaper)

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for our funny Dadeh.

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for our helpful Tateh (referring to Ate Dorina)

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for…

Aki: Benten!

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for…

Aki: light

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for…

Aki: Paloh Leyn-joh! (Power Ranger)

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for…

Aki: head

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for my kind teachers and friendly classmates.

Me: Dear Jesus, thank you for…

Aki: Dingdong Jesus! (He likes saying Dingdong but I have no idea who or what that is. MIL says there is a cartoon that he watches named Dongdong but Google is not giving me any leads)

Me: Now, Aki, let’s tell Jesus about our wishes. Jesus, please

Aki: Drink Inom! (in English, Jesus, please drink water. hahaha)

Me: Jesus, please I want..

Aki: Lulipap! (lollipop)

Me: Amen!

Aki: Amen!

12 thoughts on “How do you teach a toddler to pray?

  1. tin says:

    Hello there! I’ve been reading your blog for quite some time but this is my first time to post, hehe! I think your Aki’s “Dingdong” is actually this: http://www.doongdoong.com. My 2-year-old daughter used to shriek with delight when it’s time for doongdoong. =)

  2. AC says:

    hehehe. ang cute. πŸ™‚ anyway, ako din weak point ko ang spirituality.. i was about to write about too nung may nakasamaan ako ng loob na friend dahil sa usapang faith and religion. nawala na lang sa isip kong isulat dahil nagkabait na kame. hehhee. mabuti yan lalaking good boy si aki. πŸ™‚

    • Uy, alam mo I wanted to blog about spirituality too. Kaso parang ang lalim masyado. At saka baka bigla ako maban sa wordpress or ma report sa Catholic Bishops of the Phils.

  3. Mommy Mama RAT says:

    Ang cute cute ni Aki! πŸ™‚ keep it up maqui! πŸ™‚

    So adorable what kids pray for noh?

    Sa amin naman si LC more on memorized prayers. Prayer before meals, singing Alleluia and Ama Namin. When we do spontaneous, it has been “Jesus, Daddy’s ouch. Ball na” ever since hubby got injured. It meant for Jesus to heal his Daddy’s injured knee so he can play ball again…

  4. Ang cute naman ni Aki…I think I know the Dongdong character, there is a cartoon on Disney Junior that has a Monkey/ Gorilla with the same name. I remember when Zoie was learning how to pray, she would say thank you papa Jesus for my food, my clothes, the lotion, the TV…basically everything the saw in the room. πŸ™‚

    • Lotion?! hahahaha!
      Thanks for the lead on Dongdong. I thought the charcter is from BabyTV. Disney pala.
      I hope all is well with Zoie.:)

  5. jana says:

    Try this simple prayer sister.

    Dear God, Thank you for this beautiful day. Please bless my father, my mother, me , my loved ones and all good people. Amen

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

