Pandan Chicken

Here is my take on the Pandan Chicken recipe that I found over at Panlasang Pinoy. I followed everything to the letter except I used water instead of fish sauce. Also, instead of ordinary soy sauce and oyster sauce, we use the low sodium versions. I read somewhere that the recommended sodium intake should be around 1500 mg only. However, most people in the US, take in double that amount everyday. Not sure if the same is the case in the Philippines. Just to be safe, I stopped buying salt and patis (fish sauce). Did you know that one tablespoon ( or was it one teaspoon) of fish sauce contains 1500 mg of sodium?! Ordinary soy sauce has about 800 mg of sodium. Low sodium versions cut back on salt by 50%.

Anyhoot, here is the recipe that made my kitchen smell so good

Chicken thigh fillets
Pandan leaves
2 teaspoons low-sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons water
2 tablespoons low-sodium oyster sauce
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon pepper
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon calamansi juice
1 thumb size ginger, minced
2-3 cloves garlic, minced

1. Mix all the ingredients except for the first two in a bowl.
2. Marinate the chicken for at least one hour
3. Wrap the chicken with the pandan leaves. Use toothpicks if the leaves won’t cooperate
4. Fry.
5. Serve with a smile

PS. Vanjo Merano, the IT professional behind the Panlasang Pinoy blog is one of the very first candidates that I hired when I joined the company I am working for now. I get really happy when I see my hires become successful and famous. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Pandan Chicken

    • Ang hot niya sabihin mo!
      I am trying to google more info about him pero waley akong makita. Artista ba yun?
      ay wait wait. ano bang pinagsasabi ko. itong food blog na ito ang tunitukoy ko: http://www.thefatkidinside.com/ . Food blog yan ng jowaer ni ann curtis. any scoop on this erwann guy? may megastar or glitter ka ba jan?

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

