Fish en Papillote {Fish in Parchment Paper}

Don’t be fooled by fancy shmancy name. This is one of  the easiest fish recipes ever!  Just put the fish, the veggies and whatever flavors you want to add in the parchment paper. Crimp the edges and bake.  The possibilities are endless! You can also use aluminum foil if you run out of parchment paper.

Here are two fish en papillote recipes that I adapted from my South Beach book and from one of my Martha magazines.

In a bowl, mix the following together.

1 teaspoon ginger
1 teaspoon sesame oil (let me confirm if I used one tablespoon or one teaspoon)
1 teaspoon soy sauce
sugar

Fold a 2 foot long parchment paper in the middle. Place half of a fish fillet on one side. Add the Asian sauce mixture. Top with sliced mushrooms and young corn. Fold away.

 

For the second fish, I put the asparagus first, then the fish. I poured the juice of one calamansi and then added half of a small onion and half of a red bell pepper. Lastly, I topped  the fish with a teaspoon of butter and dried thyme.

When it comes to folding the parchment paper, the more and the sharper the creases are, the better. The idea is to let the fish cook in its own liquid and steam while infusing flavors.


Bake for 15 minutes. In my SB book, the fish are microwaved on high power for 6 minutes.

What I liked about this cooking technique is that I was able to cook two dishes with very different flavors simultaneously.

After 15 minutes, here is my Teriyaki-ish Fish en Papillote. Yum yum yum.

And here is my Herb and Veggie Flavored Fish en Papillote. This was really good. I am not a fan of asparagus and bell pepper but this fish and its veggies were finished in no time.

I can’t wait to try new combinations!

9 thoughts on “Fish en Papillote {Fish in Parchment Paper}

    • Hi Sis! Yup, pwede yun cook n bake. Meron din akong ganyan pero for this recipe, since madami ang kailangan, yun cheaper brand ang ginamit ko. Chef something ang name. Nabili ko sa Duty Free for $1.Yun temp sis, 180-200.

  1. nice idea! 🙂 am thinking of what to prepare for my baon too… i dont want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen in the mornings, i would rather have some playtime with the my little buddy…. and this one seems to be a great idea!!!! i just have to prep and leave it in the oven… and agree a lot of combis are possible!!! and no carbs!!! todo na talaga diet mode! 🙂

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

