South Beach Diet-Approved Fish Provençal Recipe

When I need to lose weight, my go-to diet is South Beach. I tried it twice and it worked on both times. Imagine how thrilled I was to find a South Beach book in Booksale, for only 15 pesos! Winner! I was not health conscious at that time so after scanning the pages, I put the book away. Now that I am helping hubby reduce his weight, I have come to appreciate the book even more. Did you know that the most treacherous part of a meal in a fancy restaurant is the the warm soft rolls served with butter? I also learned that eating anything acidic at the start of the meal slows down the emptying of the stomach which impacts the digestion of carbs. Now, we always have pineapply juice before every meal.

Aside from the wealth of knowledge on how and what to eat, my 15-peso South Beach book also has a loooooot of recipes. Here is a modified version of a recipe that I found in the book.

Ingredients

2 Fish Fillets (cream dory is a staple in our grocery list)

1/8 cup olive oil

6 pieces olives, chopped

1/2 of a can of diced  tomatoes

1/2 of a onion,chopped

1/4 dried rosemary, crushed to release the flavor

3 garlic cloves, minced

Half of  1/3 cup of white wine ( sorry, I did not want to compute and measure)

 

– Heat the oil. Saute the fish until flacky. Remove from the pan.

– Combine the olives, tomatoes, and onion in the pan. Stir in the rosemary, garlic. Finally, add the wine and saute for 5 minutes.

– Pour the sauce on top of the fish. 

– Serve with a smile.

14 thoughts on “South Beach Diet-Approved Fish Provençal Recipe

  1. Crammer Planner says:

    Hi Maqui!

    This is my first time to comment here but I’ve been a lurker since June last year. Like you, I’m a first-time mom. My son’s turning 1 this June. Sana I see a P15 South Beach Diet book din. I want to lose weight in time for my son’s birthday. BTW, What I really like about your blog are the party, DIY and frugal finds, book-related posts. Your post about your son’s baptism was what lead me to your blog.:D

    Siempre dito pa talaga ako unang nagcomment.:P
    Thanks for sharing this recipe. Will try it soon.:)

  2. Yan din ang go to diet ko! First time ko ginawa nag lose ako ng 8lbs in 2 weeks. Actually, yung 1st 2 weeks lang talaga ang ginagawa ko pag nag sa southbeach diet ako. hehehe! Medyo mahirap kasi wala talagang carbs. Such a steal ang book! Grabe ang mura!

    • Haha. Apir! Medjo mahirap nga na wlang carbs pero sulit naman sakin. I prepare my own meals instead of buying. Sobrang mahal kase kapag umorder sa Sexy Chef.

  3. AC says:

    Uy I like this. Thanks for the tip. And magshare ka pa. I’m getting bigger and bigger and bigger and seriously, I think kelangan ko na magdiet. Dahil sabi ng ofcmate ko ay alarming na daw ang paglobo ko. Akala ko OA lang sya, pero I noticed nga na tama sya… hahaha.. kase dati kahit anong laki ng bilbil ko e yung braso ko hindi talaga tumataba (na kinakainggitan nila sa kin) oh ngayon yung braso ko parang binti na! hahahaha! Wala na ko masuot, muka na kong suman.. kelangan ko na din magdiet! hahahah! Educate me pa! Hahaha 😀

      • AC says:

        Kase mahilig magluto housemates ko. Haha. 😛 tsaka lagi naman ako sa western at jap at korean resto kumakain, yung local food lang yoko. 😀

  4. ay ang galing lang. isip isip pa naman ako papano iluluto ang cream dory sa house. looks like meron ako nung lahat ng to so i can actually cook them later tonight. thanks for sharing the recipe maqui!

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

