Hello Hélio

I learned something very important about my son this weekend. Yesterday, I learned how to correctly pronounce my 30 month old son’s second name! Haha.

A brief background on his not so brief given name. Aki’s given name is Franco Hélio Akira. Franco after my husband. Akira after the great Japanese director, Akira Kurosawa. Hélio after Hélio Gracie, the father of Brazilian Jujitsu. All this time, I thought his second name is pronounced as Heel-yoh. Thanks to the video below, Franco and I now know that the correct pronouncation is El-yoh.

Trivia: Aki was conceived on the same day Hélio passed away.

One thought on “Hello Hélio

  1. AC says:

    El-yoh it is. 🙂 I have a friend who’s also into Jiujitsu, so mejo naririnig ko sa kanya si Helio Gracie. Your Aki’s name is very cute. I like the combination of his 3 names.

    I’ve always wanted to name my children after Jap icons/terms too (Haruki, Murakami, Takeshi, Midori, Sakura, etc.) I think Japanese names are the cutest, my flatmate’s children’s names are Yuri and Kojo.

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

