Raising a Bilingual

Even when Jaguar Paw was still inside my tummy, dear hubby and I already had a debate on what language will we expose Aki to. I am an advocate of culture preservation so speaking in Filipino was my bet. Nowadays, I see a lot of kids having a hard time speaking in Filipino. If the kids now are having a hard time speaking, reading, understanding and appreciating our native language, what can we expect from the generations after them? If the kids these days have tutors for Filipino, three generations from now, Filipino might just be a special elective in college. Some may argue that being fluent in English gives one the competitive edge in the corporate and in the real world. That is true. It is, however, also true that many of us, hubby and I for example, grew up speaking in Filipino, learned English in school and now work in American companies where English is the primary language. One more thing, I think there are more role models for the English language. We hear English being spoken in TV shows and movies all the time but there are very few local shows where proper Filipino and not Taglish is used as the medium. Another argument is that if we leave it to the helpers to teach Aki the national language, what message will that send to Aki? No offense to the yayas but for our case, I want Aki to learn the Filipino language from us, his parents. If we don’t show him that learning the Filipino language is  important, how can we make him appreciate Filipino music and literature? Lastly, Franco and I speak in Filipino all the time. It would be unnatural if we change how we normally speak when Aki is around.

On the other side of the ring was my husband who wanted his son to learn the English language first. Franco’s stand on raising an English spokening dollar son was not as passionate as mine. He wanted us to speak with Aki in English so he, my hubby, can practice his English. Hehe.

And so, I won that debate ….or so I thought.

For Aki’s first two years in Earth, we talked to him in Filipino. The first song that I taught him was Tong Tong Tong Pakitongkitong. When I read books written in English, after reading the text, I would try to translate in the native language. I noticed though, when I was making a draft of a blog post early this year, on Aki’s speech development, that his vocabularly is a mix of English and Filipino.

I had several realizations. First, even if we were not speaking to Aki in English, he is learning the language. He is learning it from TV, from his books and from us. We were unconsciously exposing and teaching him English words. After observing myself, I had a big realization that even for adults it is hard to speak straight and proper Filipino all the time. We are so exposed to the American culture that we incorporate English words even without trying. Can you remember when you last said “paaralan” (school), “larawan”  (picture), “berde” (green) and “kamiseta” (t-shirt/top)? Third, I also realized that young kids are indeed like sponges. There is no need to choose which language to teach first because they can learn two languages simultaneously.

 

We talked to Dra Saulog about bilingualism . She confirmed that kids can really learn both English and Filipino at the same time. She suggested that one parent speak to Aki in English while the other in Filipino. We tried that for a day or two ( or was it an hour or two, Be?) It was too unnatural. It is an effort to speak in straight Filipino but I am trying. What I also try to do now is always translating in the other  language. Example “Halika na. Let’s go.”  People who hear me probably think I sound like a broken record but so long as my methods are working, I try not to care about the opinions of the people that do not matter to me.  Aki knows Head Should Knees and Toes and Paa, Tuhod Balikat Ulo songs.  He calls his french fries ‘Tatas Fries (Patatas Fries) and refers to pigs as Baboy Pig. Lately, he is using “po” more often. So cute!

Lesson Learned: Never underestimate a child’s capacity to learn.

8 thoughts on “Raising a Bilingual

  1. odette says:

    Nice post! I can relate.. My now 3yo son knows some Hiligaynon(coz i’m Ilongga), he can speak some Tagalog(but sometimes when other kids talks to him in Tagalog he replies in English), English( coz my hubby and d rest of d family talks to him in English and his most influential cousins doesn’t speak Tagalog–pinoy yan ha?), he even can speak some words in French, Italian,Spanish,Chinese coz we love traveling and he usually plays with foreign kids wherever we go(i donnu how they understand each other.. he speaks to them in English and they speak on their own native language)he picks up d language easily like a SPONGE!! and up to now he still remembers those words… Good thing i have an Ilongga yaya! sometimes i overhear him singing songs in Ilonggo/Hiligaynon and Tagalog too! 🙂 I must say i need to strengthen more his Tagalog/Filipino language coz its a shame to us when he’ll grow up and he’ll be ask by foreign pipz why he doesn’t know his OWN Language?!

  2. Lui says:

    Totally can relate.. Hubby wants a spokening dollar buwi..i dont want to nosebleed… Ending.. Tagalog kami. Hehe.. Filipino na kesa beki talking buwi diba. So true! You cant underestimate the little rascals power.. Buwi talks tagalog with us. But knows to switch his call center twang to locals here. Bongga! He even speaks broken bahasa melayu. Siya na! Siya na ang future translator ko. Hehe..

    Pareho tayo.. Love upin and ipin too.. I have a friend who doesnt want her daughter watching it. Baka masira ang english twang ng anak niya. Kiber! Dito meron pwersa kelangan mo matuto ng bahasa or else.. Your an alien. Kaya bespren kami ni google translator eh. At mga soap opera nila. Hehe

    Sa totoo lang, mas mahirap pag-aralan ang lengguahe natin. Hinihintay ko nalang din maging ginto ang salita natin. Saka tayo bumongga sis. Paduguin natin ang mga ilong ng feelingero ng Pinas. *no pun intended!* hehe

    Amishoo sistah!

    • i mishu more, lui!nung nalaman kong paalis si sieggy, naisip ko agad, naku, mababawasan nanaman ang mga bastos na N@wie sa pinas.
      inggat ka sa bekimon mo at baka mapick-up ni buwi. lagot ka kay hubs!

  3. Mike and I agreed we’d talk to Lucas in English since the rest of the people around him would talk to him in Filipino. but, as expected, we couldn’t follow an English-when-talking-to-Lucas policy because well, pinoy tayo eh. thanks to your post, methinks, we’ll just speak naturally and let him learn both languages. although i call his water “agua”. abisyosa much? in demand and Spanish speakers eh. hehe

  4. AC says:

    So long as he uses “po” and “opo”, pwede na siguro yon. hehe. Ang cute non noh, Taglish tapos may “po”.. so konyo! Hahaha.

    My sister din is having a hard time, English, Tagalog tapos may halo pang Bisaya kase yung in-laws nya from Bohol. And even the yayas, magTagalog man puntong Bisaya naman. My nephew calls my mom, “Lula”, my dad as “Lulu” wahahhaa nakakaloka.. Lagi kase sa yaya bilang forever na ata sa ospital ang ate at bayaw ko. So sad.

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

