(Not Really A) Book Review: You Are My I Love You

 You are my I love you
by Maryann K. Cusimano
Philomel Books, 2001

I am your parent;
you are my child.
I am your quiet place;
you are my wild.

I am your calm face;
you are my giggle.
I am your wait;
you are my wiggle.

I am your carriage ride;
you are my king.
I am your push;
you are my swing.

I am your audience;
you are my clown.
I am your London Bridge;
you are my falling down.

I am your carrot sticks;
you are my licorice.
I am your dandelion;
you are my first wish.

I am your water wings;
you are my deep.
I am your open arms;
you are my running leap.

I am your way home;
you are my new path.
I am your dry towel;
you are my wet bath.

I am your dinner;
you are my chocolate cake.
I am your bedtime;
you are my wide awake.

I am your finish line;
you are my race.
I am your praying hands;
you are my saying grace.

I am your favorite book;
you are my new lines.
I am your night-light;
you are my starshine.

I am your lullaby;
you are my peekaboo.
I am your goodnight kiss;
you are my I love you.

Most of the time, when I leave  Booksale, I am excited to sit down and go through my new books. It was different case when I bought this book. The cashier was probably  wondering why I was in tears. This poem speaks about the relationship of a parent and her child.  My favorite line is I am your quiet place; you are my wild. Isn’t that the truth? Like a last song syndrome, the lines of this poem played on my head over and over for at least a week. For a week, my eyes would  get wet each time I remember this poem.

Aside from the touching lines, the book also has beautiful watercolor illustrations. Each spread shows a part of the day of a parent teddy bear and her child. Like my child, the teddy bear child is sometimes defiant, sometimes affectionate, sometimes playful but is still loved all the time.

Happy happy 2nd birthday, Akira!

Yesterday was action-packed. I need a long weekend to recover and to blog about all-day celebration.

10 thoughts on “(Not Really A) Book Review: You Are My I Love You

  1. Maya says:

    oh, that is sooo touching! I’d like to have that book ,too, for my girls. I hope to find it in the only Booksale store we have in my province.

    Happy birthday to your munchkin! 🙂

  2. Em says:

    Aww. .
    We have downloaded an Ebook from Itunes, Everyday Blessings by Tracy A. George, that made me cry too. I hope to find one a book like yours at Booksale.
    Happy birthday, Akira. I’m sure you had a blast :p

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

