OTOP Trade Fair Finds

After a long long time, I finally got to visit a trade fair again. As I posted before, trade fairs used to be my thing. I would go out of my way to find out when is the next fair. I even had this notebook where I jotted down my favorite finds and the supplier information so I can contact them again in the future. During those days, I looked for the most innovative or weirdest product. In my last trade fair shopping spree at the OTOP fair, I had different products in mind. I wanted to take home common items from my childhood in fear that local entrepreneurs might stop producing them. Most of the items that I got were actually for Aki’s Filipino toy collection.

I only had a budget of 400 pesos but look what I got to bring home.

Pangamot or back scratcher (PhP)40 and Toy Guitar from Cebu (PhP80).

Ifugao house (PhP20) and Bahay Kubo (PhP25)

Raffia Christmas Ornaments (PhP 15@) 

 
Christmas Lantern (PhP 50)

Ampaw or Rice Crisps from Laguna (PhP15), Chicharon from Cebu (PhP60), Sun-dried Tomatoes from Nueva Vizcaya (PhP75)

My favorite find – a 15 peso buri hat for Aki! He loves his Bruno Mars hat and wears it everytime he leaves the house. Unfortunately, it needs to retire already.

Guess who loves taho and his new hat?
 

So what is OTOP?

The One Town One Product (OTOP) is a priority program of government to promote entrepreneurship and create jobs. Through OTOP, local chief executives of each city and municipality take the lead in identifying, developing and promoting a specific product or service, which has a competitive advantage.
 
OTOP Philippines supports micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs) to manufacture, offer and market distinctive products or services through the use of indigenous raw materials and local skills and talents. (from their website)
 
To know more about the One Town, One Product project, please visit their website.

My favorite trade fairs are coming up this October.

OK Bikol Regional Trade Fair October 5, 2011 – October 9, 2011
2011 Likha ng Central Luzon October 19, 2011 – October 23, 2011

See you!

4 thoughts on “OTOP Trade Fair Finds

  1. maqui, i used to go to otop fairs too! my SIL and her business partner would often participate (they sell kesong puti products and carabao’s milk). nag bantay and nag decorate din ako ng booth before at megamall!!!

    i always end up buying lots of stuff….usually food items! i tried the sundried tomatoes that you bought. yummy yan with pasta, lots of garlic and olive oil! hehe

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

