This Toddler’s Mother’s Books

When I was cleaning the house in preparation for hubby’s  Japanese birthday party, 2 months before Aki’s birthday, I had a major realization: I am so not prepared for toddlerhood. When I was still preggy, I read my baby books at least twice. I bookmarked helpful reference sites and had a special folder in my email for baby related issues.

And so, I got this book, the Smart Mom’s Guide to the Toddler  Years. Unfortunately, life got on the way and I was only able to read the book when Aki reached his 14 month.  I love this book because concerns unique to Filipino moms like raising a bilingual kid and dealing with yayas where discussed. I also like that the tips are very specific. For example, the book suggests that to teach kids about the value of money and saving, we should never leave loose coins lying in the house. Also, bringing a shopping list, showing it to the kid and most importantly, sticking to the list, were also suggested. From PhP295, the book was marked down to PhP 100  

 

For play, I refer to these two books: Child’s Play by Maja Pitamic and Things to Do to Learn and Play by Dorothy Einon.  Most of the activities in these books are for kids two years old and up but there are a few pages on games for younger toddlers like Aki. It is from these books where I got the idea to make an anaconda out of paper tissue tubes and to make an improvised drum set out of old tin and plastic cans.

To instill discipline, I bought this book, Parenting the Defiant Child. Most of the tips are for older childer but I still looove this book because of the discussion on the proper way to PRAISE. Accdg to this book, Praise should be specific to the action (you did a good job in packing away your toys vs. good job), cheerleader level like in enthusiasm and involve touch or physical gesture such as a hug or a high five.

I am currently reading First Aid for Children, published by the John Hopkids Children’s Center. This book or any other book on First Aid is a must for caregivers of adventurous kids and toddlers. I love the illustrations and guides in this book.

Aki is not so much of a talker yet. I try not to worry when I come across articles that say he should be able to say around 20 words by now. He says Duh for Daddy, Ta for Tita, Ba for Lolo and Lola, Ija for Manang Lydia, Os Os for Toast. Mamamam for Mummy is reserved for those moments when he is about to explode because of frustration. I am blaming my overeagerness to the mummy in shining armor. I am so good at reading his body language that I become to eager to appease him. From this book, I learned that I should try ignore whenever he points at things that he wants, even just for  a couple of seconds. And before giving the item to him, I should say the name of the object while making sure that I am on his level so we can have eye contact and he can see how I say the word. 

Hands down, my ultimate favorite toddler parenting book is….

The Happiest Toddler on the Block! Aki is indeed a happy baby because of this book. If you can only buy one parenting book for the next 4 years, this is the one for you.  

One of these days, I will write a summary of the many tips that I learned from Dr. Harvey Karp.

PS. I am so sleeeeeepy to reviee my own post. I promise to correct the typo and grammatical errors within the week.

7 thoughts on “This Toddler’s Mother’s Books

  1. Maqui! Gusto ko din nung Happiest Toddler on the Block! I like that part where it says – How to eliminate tantrums! Hehe. where did you buy your copy? (tamad na maghanap eh no)

      • Deceiving si Maia ano? Pero behaved lang yan when in public. At home sis ibang kwento. I still need to really learn how to tame her tantrums although thank God He sends me a lot of patience. sometimes nasosorpresa din ako sa sarili ko sa haba ng pasensya ko. hehe.

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

