My 2013 Brazo De Mercedes

Last year, one of the highlights of our Easter break was my very first Brazo De Mercedes. My thousands of suitors during my younger years would attest to my love for this cake. I can eat half of roll in sitting. I love the softness of the meringue and the gooey-ness of the filling. This cake is not hard to make but it is a challenge to perfect. My attempt last year resulted into a flat but yummy cake. This year’s cake was not Goldilocks’ store-worthy but taste-wise, and my husband agrees, it was really good!

Because I don’t have a baker’s comb or a proper icing spatula, the meringue was “bumpy”.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I kinda overcooked the meringue which resulted in a crunchy crusty layer. That did not help improve the presentation but the overbaking added an interesting texture to the cake

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

But hey, don’t judge a cake by its cover. My 2013 brazo cake was a big hit in my anti-sweets family. I thought only Aki, Jyl and I would enjoy this but everyone dug in.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the recipe that I got from my Goldilocks cookbook.

INGREDIENTS

Meringue
Egg whites of 7 eggs
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1 cup sugar
1 tbsp cornstarch

For Dusting
1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

Filling
1 cup condensed milk
1/4 cup evaporated milk
Egg yolks of 5 large eggs
1/8 tsp of lemon rind
2 tbsp butter

PROCEDURE FOR THE MERINGUE

Preheat the oven at 180 Celsius.

1. Lighly brush cooking oil on a sheet pan. Line the sheet pan with parchment paper. Set aside
2. Pour egg whites, cream of tartar, and cornstarch in a mixing bowl. Using a mixer, mix for 30 seconds at low speed.
3. Switch the mixer to high speed and gradually add the sugar. Beat for 4 minutes or until medium peaks are formed.
4. Pour meringue in prepared sheet pan. (This is the part that I did not follow). Spread evenly and using a baker’s comb, create a wavy design.
5. Bake at the center of the over for 28-30 minutes.
6. Once the baked, carefully transfer the meringue into a cheescloth that has been dusted generously with confectioner’s sugar.

PROCEDURE FOR THE FILLING
1. Combine first four ingredients in the upper pan of a double boiler. Whisk to combine.
2. Fill the lower pot halfway with water and set on medium fire. Put upper pan with egg and milk mixture on top of the lower pan.
3. Cook filling until it attains medium consistency. Add butter and mix well. Ok, confession time. I got bored of waiting for the filling to thicken so I transferred the mixture to another pan and placed it on direct heat.
4. Transfer the filling to another bowl and allow to cool over a bowl of cold water.

ASSEMBLY
1. Spread 3/4 of the filling onto the bottom half of the meringue and roll. Transfer your yummy brazo roll to a plate. Cover the ends with the remaining filling.
2. Serve with a smile.

3 thoughts on “My 2013 Brazo De Mercedes

  1. Looks yummy, Maqui! Brazo de Mercedes is one of my top picks din. Second in fact. Only a sinfully decadent triple chocolate that I can only find in Pampanga topped my list hehe. Penge kami ni Lucas :)

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

