A Father’s Brand of Fun

Yesterday was my dad’s 56th birthday. Today is his 27th death anniversary. I was only 2 years old when he died. My sister was only 10 months then. We don’t have  lot of memories of our dad. We know though, from the stories  of our families and friends, that he was kind, funny, and romantic. Even if he was not with us growing up, we did not feel incomplete or unloved. Mummy showered us with love and patience. And maybe because we are fatherless, our relatives from both sides, were extra nice to us.

Now that I am also a parent, I can see how much fun it really is to have a dad, especially for little boys. I want to think that I am a fun and cool mom in Aki’ eyes but I have to admit that Franco’s brand of fun is worlds apart from mine.

Here are some of their bonding moments

1. Putting pentel pen tattoos on each other.

2. Reading comics. Sometimes I wonder who enjoys the Spidey action figures more? Oh, the second word that Aki learned to read is Marvel.

3. Playing in the rain

4. Ninja ninja!

5. Jujitsu and wrestling. I won’t post any pic here because one of you might call the DSWD.

6. Exercise. Franco’s ball weighs 100 times more than Aki’s.

Yesterday, we brought Aki to Dra Saulog (again!!). While I was hugging Aki and wiping him with a damp cloth to lower his temperature, Franco bought medicines. I realized that I am fortunate that I am not raising my son alone.

9 thoughts on “A Father’s Brand of Fun

  1. We have the same sentiment. Having grown up without a father around, I find myself lucky to be raising our son with a father. Zohan is luckier. I always feel fuzzy and warm inside whenever I see them together – and seeing these photos of Aki and franco, I know exactly how you feel.

Leave a comment and make my day. What do you think?

